Programme

Biography

Denis Gauthier

Denis GauthierAn artist and animal sculptor, above all a “horseman”, passionate about history and heritage, Denis Gauthier dwells in the rural environment both physically and morally. His desire to transmit his passion to future generations makes him an admirable story-teller who, through his painstaking and careful work, honours the creative universe of our ancestors and traditional Québec art.

His attachment to popular art and animal sculptures came from an encounter with popular artist Wilfrid Richard, of St-Ubald de Portneuf, which marked his youth. As a result of the wonderful time he spent with the man who was to become his mentor, he developed an interest in this forgotten local art, which has continued to grow since.


Since he has reached the time of life where his pace has slowed, he now dedicates himself entirely to this passion and has returned to the values that were often set aside for professional obligations. The project La Blanche Semaine grew out of a desire to bring this passion back to life and ensure the continuity of the language of our ancestors. By re-creating scale replicas of old-fashioned Québec toys, Denis Gauthier the artisan respects the integrity of the original works and, through his contribution and concern for work well done, honours the imaginative spirit of our ancestors.

This is his personal and unique way of combining the artistic expression of our heritage, his love for horses and his passion for the arts.

Back

Programmation

Biographie

Denis Gauthier

Denis GauthierArtiste et sculpteur animalier, «homme de cheval» avant tout, passionné d’histoire et de patrimoine, Denis Gauthier habite le milieu rural tant physiquement que moralement. Son désir de transmettre sa passion aux générations futures fait de lui un admirable conteur qui, de par son travail minutieux et recherché, rend hommage à l’univers créatif de nos ancêtres et à l’art traditionnel québécois.

Son attachement pour l’art populaire et la sculpture animalière lui provient d’une rencontre marquante de sa jeunesse avec l’artiste populaire Wilfrid Richard, de St-Ubald de Portneuf. Ces moments privilégiés passés avec lui qui allait devenir un mentor ont suscité un intérêt pour cet art oublié du terroir d’ici, intérêt qui n’a jamais cessé de croître depuis.

Ayant maintenant atteint cette période de la vie où le temps a diminué de rythme, il fait maintenant entièrement place à cette passion et effectue un retour aux valeurs souvent mises de côté par les obligations des activités professionnelles. C’est donc dans un désir de faire revivre cette passion et d’assurer une continuité du langage de nos ancêtres qu’est né le projet de La Blanche Semaine. En recréant des répliques – à l’échelle – de jouets anciens du Québec, Denis Gauthier l’artisan respecte l’intégrité des œuvres originales et, de par sa contribution et son souci du travail bien fait, rend ainsi hommage à l’esprit imaginatif de nos ancêtres.

Il s’agit donc pour lui d’une façon personnelle et unique de rassembler l’expression artistique du patrimoine d’ici, son amour des chevaux et sa passion pour les arts.

Retour