Programme

Biography

Pierre-Olivier Dufresne (Violin/Mandolin/feet)

Pierre-Olivier DufresneA violinist with a traditionally Québec, Eastern European and classical repertoire, Pierre-Olivier studied classical violin with Claude Richard, audio electronics at the École Nationale d'Aérotechnique, electro-acoustic music at Concordia University and jazz violin with Stéphane Allard.

Several ensembles add hues to his watercolour: MAZ, jazz and traditional Québec compositions; La Sainte Barbe, music of New France; Weshida, Middle Eastern chamber music; Gadji-Gadjo, Klezmer and Gypsy music; Les Cordeurs des Bois, traditional Québec song; Maroc'n Reel, mixture of Québec and Moroccan traditions. He played for several years with Marco Calliari, several years with Plumage and performed a homage to Plume Latraverse and performed in La Vie est un Cirque by Cirque Éloïze.

He has toured in Canada, the United States, France and Romania. He teaches violin to children of all ages (ex.: Jeunes Musiciens du Monde, orchestra of the École secondaire St-Luc), and works as a technician for various events, records sound tracks for short films, mixes mini-albums (ex: Weshida), and produces videos for various projects including certain Commando Trad events.

Back

Programmation

Biographie

Pierre-Olivier Dufresne (violon – mandoline – pieds)

Pierre-Olivier DufresneVioloniste de répertoire traditionnel québécois, de l'Europe de l'Est et classique, Pierre-Olivier a étudié le violon classique avec Claude Richard, l'électronique audio à l'École Nationale d'Aérotechnique, la musique électroacoustique à l'université Concordia et le violon jazz avec Stéphane Allard.

Des ensembles qui colorent bien son aquarelle: MAZ, compositions jazz et traditionnel québécois; La Sainte Barbe, musique de la Nouvelle-France; Weshida, musique de chambre du Moyen-Orient; Gadji-Gadjo, musique Klezmer et Tsigane; Les Cordeurs des Bois, chanson traditionnelle Québécoise; Maroc'n Reel, mélange de traditions Québécoises et Marocaines. Il a joué quelques années avec Marco Calliari, plusieurs années avec Plumage, un hommage à Plume Latraverse; La Vie est un Cirque du Cirque Éloïze.

Il a tourné au Canada, aux États-Unis, en France et en Roumanie. Il enseigne le violon à des élèves de tout âge (ex: Jeunes Musiciens du Monde, orchestre de l'école secondaire St-Luc), est technicien de son pour divers événements, enregistre des trames sonores pour des courts-métrages, mixe des mini-albums (ex: Weshida), réalise le montage vidéo pour divers projets dont certains Commandos Trad.

Retour