Programme

Press release

Honouring three women who built Ville-Marie

Photo: David Alvarado Mora

As part of the 375th anniversary of Montréal, three lectures will be presented during a theme meal highlighting three women who built Montréal and Canada: Marguerite Bourgeoys (Congrégation de Notre-Dame) who was involved in education, Jeanne Mance (Les Hospitalières) who was involved in health care, and Marguerite d’Youville (Grey Nuns of Montréal) who was involved in social services. In the 17th century, these three visionary women dedicated their lives to growing a budding and fragile society.

Following these luncheon meetings, you will know more about French customs and nutrition. Lectures with a taste of history... Why not!

Sunday, January 29, 2017 from 12 noon to 2:30 p.m.
AT JEANNE MANCE'S TABLE
with Hélène-Andrée Bizier, Québec historian and essayist
For this workshop, Hélène-Andrée Bizier highlights the abundance of game of all kind, herbs, fruits and vegetables offered by nature during the time of those who founded Ville-Marie. With you, she will sample some of the food eaten at the Marguerite Bourgeoys’ table, while reviving the French customs transmitted over more than three centuries to the students of the large schools operated by the Congrégation de Notre-Dame.

Sunday, February 26, 2017 from 12 noon to 2:30 p.m.
AT MARGUERITE BOURGEOYS' TABLE
with Hélène-Andrée Bizier, Québec historian and essayist
Historian Hélène-Andrée Bizier uses the tale of a young military man to illustrate a certain refinement that was implemented at Montréal tables during the time of Jeanne Mance and Marguerite Bourgeoys. “Even the Grand Vatel would have envied the Réveillon menu,” wrote the soldier. He was referring to the fact that people were also using imported foods such as pepper, coffee and chocolate in addition to tourtières found in certain kitchens.

Sunday, March 26, 2017 from 12 noon to 2:30 p.m.
AT MARGUERITE D’YOUVILLE’S TABLE
with Hélène-Andrée Bizier, Québec historian and essayist
For this luncheon meeting, Hélène-Andrée Bizier sits down at the table with Marguerite Dufrost de Lajemmerais, better known as Marguerite d’Youville, founder of the Sisters of Charity, also called the Grey Nuns of Montréal. A member of the French nobility, she was born in New France where she experienced bourgeois affluence and life in the woods, wealth and poverty, motherhood and religious life.

The three luncheon meetings will take place on January 29, February 26 and March 26, 2017 at the Catherine-Crolo pavilion, 2146, Place Dublin, Pointe-Saint-Charles, Montréal.

Admission: $35.00 (taxes included)
Reservations required: 514 935-8136

These three luncheon meetings are for those aged 18 and older.

Back

Programmation

Communiqué

Hommage à trois bâtisseuses de Ville-Marie

Photo: David Alvarado Mora

Dans le cadre du 375e anniversaire de la fondation de Montréal, trois causeries sont présentées au cours d’un repas thématique mettant en valeur trois femmes d’exception de Montréal et du Canada : Marguerite Bourgeoys (Congrégation de Notre-Dame) avec l’éducation, Jeanne Mance (Les Hospitalières) avec les soins de santé et Marguerite d’Youville (Sœurs Grises de Montréal) avec les services sociaux. Au 17e siècle, ces trois femmes visionnaires ont donné leur vie pour faire grandir une société naissante et fragile.

Au cours de ces dîners-causeries, vous en saurez plus sur les coutumes françaises et sur l’alimentation. Des causeries au goût de l’histoire avec Hélène-Andrée Bizier, c’est à ne pas manquer !

Le dimanche 29 janvier 2017 de 12 h à 14 h 30
À LA TABLE DE JEANNE MANCE
À cet atelier, Hélène-Andrée Bizier souligne l’abondance du gibier de toute provenance, des fines herbes, fruits et légumes offerts par la nature au temps des fondateurs de Ville-Marie. Elle déguste avec vous quelques-uns des aliments consommés à la table de Marguerite Bourgeoys tout en faisant revivre les coutumes françaises transmises pendant plus de trois siècles aux élèves des grandes écoles de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame.

Le dimanche 26 février 2017 de 12 h à 14 h 30
À LA TABLE DE MARGUERITE BOURGEOYS
L’historienne Hélène-Andrée Bizier s’inspire du récit d’un jeune militaire pour illustrer un certain raffinement instauré sur la table montréalaise au temps de Jeanne Mance et de Marguerite Bourgeoys. « Même le Grand Vatel, écrivait le petit soldat, aurait envié le menu du réveillon ». C’est dire l’usage qu’on faisait déjà de quelques aliments importés ainsi que des poivrières, cafetières, chocolatières et tourtières qu’on trouvait dans certaines cuisines.

Le dimanche 26 mars 2017 de 12 h à 14 h 30
À LA TABLE DE MARGUERITE D’YOUVILLE
Pour ce dîner-causerie, Hélène-Andrée Bizier s’assoit à la table de Marguerite Dufrost de Lajemmerais mieux connue sous le nom de Marguerite d’Youville, fondatrice de la Congrégation des Sœurs de la Charité dites Sœurs Grises de Montréal. Issue de la noblesse française, elle est née en Nouvelle-France où elle a conjugué l’aisance bourgeoise et la vie des bois, la richesse et la pauvreté, la maternité et la vie religieuse.

Les trois dîners-causeries auront lieu les dimanches 29 janvier, 26 février et 26 mars 2017 de 12 h à 14 h 30, au pavillon Catherine-Crolo de la Maison Saint-Gabriel, 2146, place Dublin à Pointe-Saint-Charles, Montréal.

Droits d’entrée : 35,00 $ (taxes incluses)
Réservations obligatoires : 514 935-8136

Ces trois dîners-causeries s’adressent aux 18 ans et plus.

Retour