Programme

Press release

2017 Temporary Exhibit
375 YEARS IN THE HEART OF IT ALL!
The Legacy of Montréal's Women's Religious Communities

From May 31 to December 22, 2017 

375 ANS AU CŒUR DE L’ACTION !

In the context of the 375th anniversary of the founding of the city, Maison Saint-Gabriel, museum and historical site, is proposing a new temporary exhibit that dares to explore a subject that is seldom talked about. During this year of historical festivities, the museum is presenting, with 375 Years in the Heart of it All !,the legacy of Montréal's women's religious communities. This exhibit is open to the public from May 10 to December 22, 2017. All are welcome to learn more about these not so well-known groups of women and discover their heritage.

The themes presented invite visitors to take a fresh look at the history of Montréal's women's religious communities and the contributions they have made since the founding of Ville-Marie (1642) to the present day. “The museum’s mission remains education through history,” recalled Madeleine Juneau, its executive director. “The founding of Montréal is also a story of women, exceptional women such as Jeanne Mance, Marguerite Bourgeoys and Marguerite d’Youville, but also First Nation’s women, women of calling and, let us not forget, the King’s Wards. They all contributed to the development of our metropolis,” she added enthusiastically.

Numerous archival objects and documents attest to the extent of the involvement of the members of these communities and preserve traces of their expertise. Women of action, religious sisters were nurses, teachers, missionaries, architects, musicians, scientists, etc. Establishing the basis of the services to the population, they founded hospitals, schools and laid the foundations of our social system.

After holding such an important place in society, what has become of them? Even if they are less visible today, they still pursue their mission. This exhibition is a rare opportunity to discover the diversity of their commitment, past and present, over a 375-year period.

Project financed under the Agreement on the cultural development of Montréal by Ville de Montréal and the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications.

Back

Programmation

Communiqué

Exposition temporaire 2017
375 ANS AU CŒUR DE L’ACTION !
Le legs des communautés religieuses féminines de Montréal 

Du 31 mai au 22 décembre 2017 

375 ANS AU CŒUR DE L’ACTION !

Dans le cadre du 375e anniversaire de la fondation de la ville, la Maison Saint-Gabriel, musée et site historique, propose une nouvelle exposition temporaire qui ose un sujet rarement abordé. En cette année de festivités historiques, le musée présente, avec 375 ans au cœur de l’action ! le legs des communautés religieuses féminines de Montréal. Le public est attendu jusqu’au 22 décembre 2017 pour en apprendre davantage sur ces groupes de femmes méconnus et découvrir leur héritage.

Les thèmes présentés invitent les visiteurs à jeter un nouveau regard sur le parcours des communautés religieuses féminines de Montréal à travers leur contribution depuis la fondation de Ville-Marie en 1642 jusqu’à nos jours. «La mission du musée demeure l’éducation par l’histoire», nous rappelle Madeleine Juneau, sa directrice générale. «La fondation de Montréal est aussi une histoire de femmes : de femmes d’exception comme Jeanne Mance, Marguerite Bourgeoys et Marguerite d’Youville, mais aussi de femmes autochtones, de femmes de vocation, sans oublier les Filles du Roy. Elles ont toutes contribué à l’essor de la métropole,» poursuit-elle avec enthousiasme.  

De nombreux objets et documents d’archives attestent l’étendue de l’implication des membres de ces congrégations et préservent les traces de leurs savoir-faire. Femmes d’action, les religieuses ont été infirmières, enseignantes, missionnaires, architectes, musiciennes, scientifiques, etc. À l’origine des premiers services à la population, elles ont fondé les hôpitaux, les écoles, et structuré les bases de notre système social. 

Après avoir occupé une place prédominante dans la société, que sont-elles devenues? Même si elles nous semblent plus discrètes aujourd’hui, elles poursuivent leur mission. Cette exposition offre une occasion rare de découvrir la diversité de leur engagement passé et présent, à travers 375 ans d’histoire. 

Cette exposition est rendue possible grâce à l’appui financier de la Ville de Montréal et du ministère de la Culture et des Communications dans le cadre de l’Entente sur le développement culturel de Montréal. 

Retour