Programme

Press release

HARVESTING IS TIME FOR CELEBRATION!

Sunday, September 3, 2017

Concert de musique ancienne avec des musiciens de l’Ensemble Claude-GervaiseOn Sunday, September 3, come to the Harvest Festival at Maison Saint-Gabriel. Numerous interesting and captivating activities have been planned for this day, which is dedicated to pleasure and abundance.

It all starts at 10:30 a.m., with a concert of old-fashioned music with the musicians of the Ensemble Claude-Gervaise. This musical interlude on an enchanting site will be followed by the Auction with the hilarious Joseph Sansfaçon, auctioneer and story-teller like no other.

At 1:30 p.m., attend a horticultural conference entitled the Jardin des origines with ethnobotanist Daniel Fortin, in the Jardin des origines. Don’t forget to take a slice of the magnificent cake provided by Aux Pures Délices to highlight the abundance of the season.

Baptiste DurandTake part in an afternoon filled with activities of interest for young and old alike, with the caner, the weaver, the snowshoe maker, the public writer with his pen, the spinner, spoon-maker Baptiste Durand, the trough-maker, the blacksmith, the potter, the saddle-maker and the clog-maker.

Visit the Farmhouse garden and take the opportunity to sample rose products along with a good piece of old-style bread baked in a bread oven as in days gone by. Story-teller Ti-Jean de La Rochelle and the Théâtre Catherine-Crolo will perform Une journée à la Providence.

Don’t miss the temporary exhibit 375 years at the heart of the action!  in the stone barn. Since it was founded, Montréal was deeply marked by the contributions made by women’s religious communities. Women of action, they served as teachers, nurses, missionaries, architects, musicians, etc. They initiated the first services offered to the population, providing the foundation for our modern social system. This exhibit highlights the occasionally surprising diversity of their involvement in the Montréal community and the scope of their legacy. What became of them? Are they still active?

Then, plunge into the scents and gestures of an earlier time by taking stroll through the glade and along the poetry path. Discover history in the Sharecroppers’ garden.

Guided tours of the museum are offered in French and English, Tuesday through Sunday, from 11 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. until September 3, 2017 and from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. from September 7 to December 22, 2017. Closed Monday.

Guided tours of the museum are offered in French and English, Tuesday through Sunday, from 11 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. until September 3, 2017 and from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. from September 7 to December 22, 2017. Closed Monday.

Maison Saint-Gabriel is located at 2146 Place Dublin, in Pointe-Saint-Charles, near Marguerite-Bourgeoys Park (Wellington St.), less than five minutes by car from Vieux-Montréal or the Charlevoix metro station (Bus 57 east).

Information: 514 935-8136

Back

Programmation

Communiqué

QUAND ON RÉCOLTE, ON FÊTE

Le dimanche 3 septembre 2017

Concert de musique ancienne avec des musiciens de l’Ensemble Claude-GervaiseLe dimanche 3 septembre, assistez à la Fête des récoltes à la Maison Saint-Gabriel. Cette journée, sous le signe du plaisir et de l’abondance, vous propose des animations riches et captivantes.

Tout débute à 10 h 30, avec un concert de musique ancienne avec des musiciens de l’Ensemble Claude-Gervaise. Ce moment musical sur un site enchanteur est suivi de la Criée avec l’inénarrable Joseph Sansfaçon, crieur et conteur à sa manière.

À 13 h, assistez à une conférence horticole intitulée Le Jardin des origines avec l’ethnobotaniste Daniel Fortin, dans le jardin de la Métairie. Ne manquez pas la dégustation d’un magnifique gâteau offert par Aux Pures Délices pour souligner l’abondance de la saison.

Baptiste DurandPrenez part à un après-midi rempli d’activités pouvant intéresser petits et grands avec la rempailleuse de chaises, la fileuse, le faiseur de balais, le souricier, le cordier, le fondeur de Baptiste Durand, le tourneur sur bois, le forgeron, le cordonnier, le potier, le sellier et le souffleur de verre.

Visitez le jardin de la Métairie et le nouveau Jardin des origines. Profitez de plusieurs dégustations de produits à la rose avec un bon pain à l’ancienne cuit dans le four à pain d’antan. Le conteur Ti-Jean de La Rochelle et le Théâtre Catherine-Crolo vous feront vivre Une journée à la Providence.

Dans la grange en pierre, ne ratez pas l’exposition temporaire 375 ans au cœur de l’action! Depuis sa fondation, Montréal a été profondément marqué par la contribution des communautés religieuses féminines. Femmes d’action, elles ont été enseignantes, infirmières, missionnaires, architectes, musiciennes, etc. À l’origine des premiers services à la population, elles ont structuré les bases de notre système social moderne. Cette exposition met en lumière la diversité, parfois surprenante, de leur implication dans la communauté montréalaise et l’étendue de leur legs. Que sont-elles devenues? Sont-elles toujours dans l’action?

Puis, plongez dans les parfums et les gestes d’antan en vous baladant dans le sous-bois que traverse le sentier de poésie. Découvrez l’histoire dans le jardin des Métayères.

Des visites guidées du musée sont offertes en français et en anglais, du mardi au dimanche de 11 h à 18 h, du 18 juin au 3 septembre 2017, et de 13 h à 17 h du 5 septembre au 22 décembre 2017. Fermé le lundi.

La Maison Saint-Gabriel est située au 2146, place Dublin, à Pointe-Saint-Charles près du parc Marguerite-Bourgeoys (rue Wellington). À moins de cinq minutes en auto du Vieux-Montréal ou par le métro Charlevoix, autobus 57 est.

Renseignements : 514 935-8136   

Retour