Programme

Press release

Journée des musées montréalais
Photo: Maison Saint-Gabriel

MONTRÉAL MUSEUMS DAY
The perfect opportunity to visit Maison Saint-Gabriel!

On Sunday, May 28, 2017 from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Maison Saint-Gabriel, museum and historic site, will offer you a rich and colourful programme as part of Montréal Museums Day, an activity organized by the Société des musées montréalais. Story-tellers, craftspeople and historical personalities will be on hand! Plus, guided tours of the house, one of the oldest on the Island of Montréal, will give everyone an opportunity to discover this true architectural jewel.

Le sabotier
Photo: Pierre Guzzo

First of all, make place for tales and the imaginary! Hosts Ubert Sanspré dit Beloeil and Télesphore, story-tellers Joachim Crête and Patrick Péloquin dit Joseph Sanfaçon, and coureurs de bois,Ti-Jean de La Rochelle and Jacques Le Ber, have all kinds of humorous and frightening tales to tell. Visitors will also discover the extraordinary work of craftspeople from days gone by. On this day unlike any other, a dozen or so craftspeople will be on the site and will demonstrate their skills, which may have almost disappeared but are totally fascinating. On the programme: the basket weaver, the weaver and the art of old-fashioned weaving, spoon-maker who will talk about the rudiments of his trade, and the blacksmith who loves telling tales about old blacksmith shops. And that's not all. Visitors will also see the spinner, the shingler, the turner, the sashweavers, the snowshoe maker, the dowser, the rope-maker. The clog-maker and the glass blower will also be on hand to teach you the secrets of their trades. Samples of green, rose tea will delight young and old alike. grands.

Sourcier
Photo: Pierre Guzzo

The Jardin des origines has been added to the gardens inspired by New France that are found on the site of Maison Saint-Gabriel, a living aspect of the history proposed by the museum. This bequest from the City of Montréal recalls the contribution made by First Nations women and makes visitors aware of the importance of their heritage. Filled with indigenous plants, this garden testifies to the encounter of the French and Aboriginal cultures and the horticultural and medicinal knowledge of the First Nations women.

Above all, don't miss the temporary exhibit, 375 years in the heart of the action, which will be on display from May 10 to December 22. Since its founding, Montréal was profoundly marked by the contribution of female religious communities. Women of action, they served as teachers, nurses, missionaries, musicians, etc. Discover the diversity of their involvement and the scope of their bequest to us. What became of them? Are they still present in the heart of the city?

Maison Saint-Gabriell, museum and historical site, is located at 2146 Place Dublin, in Pointe-Saint-Charles, near Marguerite-Bourgeoys Park (Wellington St.), less than five minutes by car from Vieux-Montréal or the Charlevoix metro station (Bus 57 east).

 

Back

Programmation

Communiqué

Journée des musées montréalais
Photo: Maison Saint-Gabriel

LA JOURNÉE DES MUSÉES MONTRÉALAIS
L’occasion parfaite pour visiter la Maison Saint-Gabriel

Le dimanche 28 mai 2017, de 9 h à 18 h, la Maison Saint-Gabriel, musée et site historique, vous offrira une programmation riche et colorée dans le cadre de la Journée des musées montréalais, une activité organisée par la Société des musées montréalais. Conteurs, artisans et personnages historiques seront au rendez-vous! De plus, des visites guidées de la maison, une des plus anciennes de l’île de Montréal, permettront à tous de découvrir ce véritable bijou d’architecture.

Le sabotier
Photo: Pierre Guzzo

Tout d’abord place au conte et à l’imaginaire! Les animateurs Ubert Sanspré dit Beloeil et Télesphore, les conteurs Joachim Crête et Patrick Péloquin dit Joseph Sanfaçon, et les coureurs de bois,
Ti-Jean de La Rochelle et Jacques Le Ber, ont toutes sortes d’histoires aussi drôles qu’effrayantes à raconter. Les visiteurs découvriront aussi l’extraordinaire monde des artisans d’antan. En cette journée pas comme les autres, une dizaine d’artisans seront sur le site et démontreront un savoir-faire presque disparu, mais totalement fascinant. Au programme : la vannière, le tisserand etle l’art du tissage ancien, le fondeur de cuillères qui raconte les rudiments de son métier et le forgeron et ses histoires de vieilles forges. Ce n’est pas tout. Les visiteurs verront aussi à l’œuvre la fileuse, le bardeleur, le tourneur, les flécheuses, le laceur de raquettes, le sourcier, le cordier. Le sabotier, le sculpteur de manche, le cordonnier et le souffleur de verre seront également présents pour enseigner les secrets de leur métier. Les dégustations de thé vert à la rose raviront petits et grands.

Sourcier
Photo: Pierre Guzzo

Le Jardin des origines s’ajoute aux jardins inspirés de la Nouvelle-France présents sur le site de la Maison Saint-Gabriel, une facette vivante de l’histoire proposée par le musée. Ce legs de Montréal rappelle la contribution des femmes autochtones et sensibilise le visiteur à l’importance de son héritage. Garni de plantes indigènes, ce jardin témoigne de la rencontre des cultures française et autochtone et du savoir-faire horticole et médicinal des femmes des Premières Nations.

Enfin, ne manquez surtout pas l’exposition temporaire 375 ans au cœur de l’action, du 10 mai au 22 décembre. Depuis sa fondation, Montréal a été profondément marqué par la contribution des communautés religieuses féminines. Femmes d’action, elles ont été enseignantes, infirmières, architectes, missionnaires, musiciennes, etc. Découvrez la diversité de leur implication et l’étendue de leur legs. Que sont-elles devenues? Sont-elles toujours présentes au cœur de la ville?

La Maison Saint-Gabriel, musée et site historique, est située au 2146, place Dublin, à Pointe-Saint-Charles près du parc Marguerite-Bourgeoys (rue Wellington). À moins de cinq minutes en auto du Vieux-Montréal ou par le métro Charlevoix, autobus 57 Est.

Retour