Press release


Between 9 a.m. and 12 noon, Saturdays, from June 17 to September 9, in Pointe-Saint-Charles

Photo: Maude Laferrière

Maison Saint-Gabriel, a museum and historical site, invites you not only to visit its exhibits and take part in its guided tours, but also gives you an opportunity to experience moments, gestures and sounds that make up the immaterial heritage of Québec, through interpretation and reconstitution. In this way, every summer, as part of its programme, the museum presents craftspeople who continue to practise skills from times gone by and are able to demonstrate them and explain them to the public. Based on its success, the “Bread Run” is back in the museum’s programme. Every Saturday from June 17 to September 9, between 9 a.m. and 12 noon, the museum will organize a Bread Run in the streets of Point-Saint-Charles, located on the former lands of the Congrégation farm.

Starting at 9 a.m. every Saturday, the breadman will go from door to door in his specially restored, old-fashioned cart, pulled by Capucine, a magnificent mare. The sound of hooves on the pavement, the rumble of the wooden wheels of the bread cart, the ringing of the bell to announce his arrival, the purchase of bread, a few words and the slowness that has been long forgotten... residents in the neighbourhood will truly travel back in time!

Did you know that, in the 17th century, bread was the primary source of food? According to the first ordinance issued in 1687, each household in Montréal could only cook the bread it ate. However, inn-keepers and cabaret-keepers had to purchase their bread from the baker. Until the end of the 18th century, there were generally three types of bread: patent flour or white bread, wheatmeal bread and brown bread. Bakers were required to have a permit. In 1711, ten bakers had permits in Montréal.

In the 19th century, the number of bakers increased significantly. A loaf of bread, which costs $3.75 in 2016, cost 4 cents in 1900! In the rural areas, since it was considered inappropriate for a mother of a large family not to bake her own break, bakers only started delivering bread in the 1930s. In Montréal, home deliveries of bread stopped in the 1950s.

There is a traditional bread oven on the site of the museum and the baker bakes his bread there every Saturday. Those who miss the Bread Run can always purchase bread in the museum’s gift shop on Saturdays and Sundays!

Programmation

Communiqué

LA RUN DE PAIN

Entre 9 h et 12 h, les samedis du 17  juin au 9 septembre 2017

LA «RUN» DE PAIN
Photo: Maude Laferrière

La Maison Saint-Gabriel, un musée et site historique, vous invite non seulement à visiter ses expositions ou à participer à ses visites guidées, mais vous propose aussi de retrouver des moments, des gestes, des sons qui font partie du patrimoine immatériel du Québec, grâce à l’interprétation et la reconstitution. Ainsi, le musée présente chaque été, dans le cadre de sa programmation, des artisans qui perpétuent des savoir-faire anciens et qui savent les montrer et les expliquer au public. Ayant connue un grand succès, la « Run de pain » est dans la programmation du musée. Les samedis du 17 juin au 9 septembre, entre 9 h et 12 h, la bonne odeur du pain frais envahira les rues de Pointe-Saint-Charles situées sur les anciennes terres de la ferme de la Congrégation.

Chaque samedi dès 9 h, le livreur de pain ira de porte en porte dans sa voiture ancienne spécialement restaurée et tirée par Capucine, une magnifique jument Canadienne. Le bruit des sabots sur la chaussée, celui des roues en bois de la Berline, le son de la clochette annonçant sa venue, l’achat du pain, quelques paroles et cette lenteur depuis longtemps oubliée… les habitants du quartier vont réellement remonter dans le temps!

Saviez-vous, qu’au 17e siècle, le pain était la première source de nourriture? Selon une première ordonnance émise en 1687, chaque foyer de Montréal ne peut cuire que le pain qu’il consomme. Par contre, les aubergistes et cabaretiers doivent acheter leur pain du boulanger. Jusqu’à la fin du 18e siècle, il y avait généralement trois sortes de pain : celui de fine fleur ou pain blanc, le pain bis blanc et le pain brun. Les boulangers devaient détenir un permis. Ils seront dix à le posséder à Montréal en 1711.

Au 19e siècle, le nombre de boulangers augmente considérablement. Une miche de pain, qui vaut    3,75 $ en 2017, vaut 4 sous en 1900! Dans les campagnes, il était mal vu qu’une mère de famille nombreuse ne cuise pas elle-même son pain, aussi les boulangers ne commencèrent à y livrer le pain que vers les années 1930. À Montréal, les livraisons de pain à domicile ont cessé dans les années 50.

Il y a un four à pain traditionnel sur le site du musée, et, tous les samedis, le boulanger y cuit le pain. Ceux qui auront manqué le rendez-vous de la « Run de pain », pourront toujours s’en procurer à la boutique du musée le samedi et le dimanche!

Pour voir la carte, cliquez sur LA RUN DE PAIN.

Retour