Programme

Press release

FARMHOUSE MARKET

Saturday, September 2, 2017 from 1:00 to 5:00 p.m.

LE MARCHÉ DE LA MÉTAIRIE
Photo: Pierre Guzzo

You are invited to Maison Saint-Gabriel’s agricultural market where you, like the inhabitants of the area until the 1960s, can purchase garden-grown vegetables, eggs from the chicken coop, and delicious preserves made from the farmhouse sisters’ recipe.

For the 375th anniversary of the foundation of Montreal, the museum is organizing an historical re-enactment of this 300 year-old tradition as it was lived by the Congrégation de Notre-Dame sisters. The sisters cultivated the land in order to ensure their self-sufficiency which, in turn, enabled them to continue their mission to provide education to the children of the colony.

This must-see event will take place on the original site of Montreal’s first large model farm which includes its vegetable garden, bee hives, flower beds and new chicken coop. You will also have the opportunity to see craftpersons practicing ancient trades and sharing their valuable skills. Come and see them work and talk to them about the methods that were used before the industrial era. Friendly and inspiring, they capture the interest of both the young and young at heart. How can one not be intrigued by the broom and snowshoe makers, the weaver handling an impressive weaving loom, and the basket weaver presenting one of her many projects in progress?

In addition to the farmhouse market and its demonstrations of ancient trades, you also have access to the guided tour, From the Cellar to the Attic, a visit of the gardens inspired by New France and the temporary exhibition, 375 Years in the Heart of the Action, which presents contributions made by Montreal’s women religious communities. You may also wish to walk through the new Indigenous Garden which pays tribute to Native women and follow the circuit, The Farmhouse of the Pointe for which a mobile application has been developed in order to enhance your experience.

Admission for all the activities:
Families (2 adults and 3 children) – $30.00
Adults – $20.00
(taxes included)

Back

Programmation

Communiqué

LE MARCHÉ DE LA MÉTAIRIE

LE MARCHÉ DE LA MÉTAIRIE
Photo: Pierre Guzzo

Venez faire votre marché à la Maison Saint-Gabriel et procurez-vous, comme le faisaient les habitants des environs jusque dans les années soixante, les légumes du potager, les œufs du poulailler et les savoureuses conserves des sœurs fermières de la maison de ferme.

Dans le cadre des festivités du 375e anniversaire de la fondation de Montréal, le musée organise une reconstitution historique de cette tradition tricentenaire dirigée par les sœurs de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame. Ces dernières cultivaient la terre pour assurer leur autosuffisance afin de poursuivre leur mission d’éducation auprès des enfants de la colonie.

Il s’agit d’un événement à ne pas manquer sur le site original de la première grande ferme modèle de Montréal, avec son potager, ses ruches, ses jardins et son tout nouveau poulailler. Vous pourrez également profiter de la présence d’artisans de métiers anciens qui partagent avec vous leur précieux savoir-faire. Venez les voir travailler et discuter avec eux des méthodes d’avant l’ère industrielle. Ils sont sympathiques, inspirants et suscitent l’intérêt des petits comme des plus grands. Comment ne pas être intrigué par un faiseur de balais, un laceur de raquettes, un tisserand qui manie un impressionnant métier à tisser et la vannière qui présente l’un de ses nombreux projets en cours.

En plus du Marché de la Métairie et des démonstrations des métiers anciens, vous avez accès à la visite guidée De la cave au grenier; la visite guidée des jardins inspirés de la Nouvelle-France et l’exposition temporaire, 375 ans au cœur de l’action!, qui présente le legs des communautés religieuses féminines de Montréal. Vous pouvez également parcourir le nouveau Jardin des origines en hommage aux femmes autochtones et le circuit La ferme de la Pointe pour lesquels une application mobile a été développée afin d’enrichir votre promenade.

Droits d’entrée pour l’ensemble des activités :
Familles (2 adultes et 3 enfants) – 30,00 $
Adultes – 20,00$
(taxes incluses)

Retour