Press release

The chicken coop at the Farmhouse, another original project

The chicken coop at the Farmhouse, another original project
Photo: Maison Saint-Gabriel

Always on the look-out for new projects that will pique the curiosity of the public and stimulate their interest in history, Maison Saint-Gabriel, museum and historic site, is making the most of the 375th anniversary of the founding of Montréal to launch a new initiative: urban agriculture. In order to revive a tradition from the time of the farm, in spring 2017, the museum will be setting up a chicken coop that will house a small flock of five Chantecler chicks.

This is an intriguing and very pertinent undertaking for the museum. In 1918, Soeur Brault was responsible for starting up chicken farming at the farm in the Point. Every year up to 1956, the purchase of 1,000 chicks was mentioned in the records. Reviving this past, on its original site, in keeping with the history transmitted by the heritage interpreters during the guided tours, represents an undeniable added value for this mediation activity for visitors.

The choice of the Chantecler chicken, which has been a “heritage species of Québec” since 1999 is all the more pertinent since it represents an additional opportunity to pursue our mission to educate people about history, particularly in the rural areas, up to the 19th century.

A former farm, Maison Saint-Gabriel respects a historical logic by adding workshops on urban agriculture that will cover chickens and caring for them to its interpretation activities. These workshops will also cover the characteristics of the Chantecler chicken, its origins and why it is considered a “heritage species of Québec”.

Programmation

Communiqué

Le poulailler de la Métairie, un autre projet original

Le poulailler de la Métairie, un autre projet original
Photo: Maison Saint-Gabriel

Toujours à l’affût de nouveaux projets qui vont piquer la curiosité du public et stimuler leur intérêt pour l’histoire, la Maison Saint-Gabriel, musée et site historique, profite du 375e anniversaire de la fondation de Montréal pour lancer une nouvelle initiative, l’agriculture urbaine. Afin de faire revivre une tradition de l’époque de la ferme, on aménagera, dès le printemps 2017, un poulailler qui accueillera un petit couvain de cinq poussins Chantecler.

Il s’agit d’une démarche intrigante pour un musée, certes, mais combien pertinente. En 1918, on confie à sœur Brault l’instauration de l’aviculture à la ferme de la Pointe. Chaque année, on mentionne dans les annales l’achat de 1 000 poussins, et ce, jusqu’en 1956. Faire revivre ce passé dans son lieu d’origine, en cohérence avec l’histoire transmise par les guides animatrices lors des visites du musée, représente une valeur ajoutée indéniable à cette activité de médiation pour le visiteur.

Le choix de la Poule Chantecler, « race patrimoniale du Québec » depuis 1999, est d’autant plus pertinent qu’elle représente une occasion supplémentaire de poursuivre notre mission éducative par l’histoire, notamment du milieu rural jusqu’au 19e siècle.

Ancienne maison de ferme, la Maison Saint-Gabriel respecte une logique historique en ajoutant à ses activités d’interprétation des ateliers sur l’agriculture urbaine qui traiteront des poules et des soins à leur apporter. Il y sera également question des particularités de la Poule Chantecler, de ses origines et de ce qui l’a qualifiée de « race patrimoniale du Québec ».

Retour