Programme

Press release

LONG LIVE MAPLE SYRUP TAFFY ON SNOW!

Sunday, March 5, 2017 from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

VIVE LA TIRE SUR LA NEIGEIn March 1966, after being transformed into a heritage museum, Maison Saint-Gabriel opened its doors to the public. Since that time, Maison Saint-Gabriel has undergone many transformations. It equipped its barn, which was restored in 1992 with an exhibit room and, over the past 10 years, it has highlighted its agricultural past by creating a vegetable garden in the style of the 17th century, arranging zones of flowers as well as scented, aromatic and medicinal plants, and by identifying the trees on the site. In 2010, Maison Saint-Gabriel was enriched with many new features and it now offers its visitors an enchanting spring. The experience of the site has been transformed as a result of the acquisition of the Catherine-Crolo pavilion and the addition of the Sharecroppers’ garden. These changes also include a restaurant, a terrace, and a large gift shop.

To celebrate the beautiful days of spring and highlight its mission to educate about history, Maison Saint-Gabriel recalls the time when maple trees were tapped on its site (until the 1960s) and sap was transformed into syrup, when it was still a farmhouse. It invites Montrealers to experience a few sweet hours recreating a sugar shack on Sunday, March 5, from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Is there any better way to celebrate the arrival of spring? It was in the sugaring off season that farm work started up in days gone by. The staff of Les Productions Érable sur neige will set up a real sugar shack on the site and all of the visitors will be able to taste taffy on snow. Hosts and story-tellers Télesphore and Ubert Sanspré du Beloeil will relate wonderful tales to you, each in his own way. They will be accompanied by other story-tellers: le Père Tom and la Mère Bisson. Violinist Élisabeth Moquin will add a festive note. This spring afternoon will have its share of sweet surprises. Sunday, March 5 inaugurates a series of cultural events and innovative activities to mark the 375th anniversary of the founding of Montréal.

Admission:
Adults: $15.00
Seniors: $10.00
Students: $5.00
Families (2 adults – 3 children): $25.00

(taxes included)

Taffy sample: $5.00/unit

Maison Saint-Gabriel is located at 2146 Place Dublin, in Pointe-Saint-Charles, a few steps from Marguerite-Bourgeoys park and close to the Charlevoix metro station (Bus 57 East).

Information: 514 935-8136

Back

Programmation

Communiqué

VIVE LA TIRE SUR LA NEIGE

le dimanche 12 mars 2017, de 13 h à 17 h

VIVE LA TIRE SUR LA NEIGEEn mars 1966, la Maison Saint-Gabriel, transformée en musée patrimonial, ouvrait ses portes au public. Depuis, la Maison Saint-Gabriel a subi de nombreuses transformations. Elle s’est dotée d’une salle d’exposition dans sa grange restaurée en 1992 et, depuis dix ans, elle a mis en valeur son passé agricole en recréant un potager comme au 17e siècle, des zones de fleurs et de plantes odorantes, aromatiques et médicinales, et en identifiant les arbres de son site. En 2010, la Maison Saint-Gabriel s’est enrichie de nombreuses nouveautés, elle propose à ses visiteurs un printemps sous le signe de l’enchantement. L’expérience de visite s’est transformée grâce à l’acquisition du pavillon Catherine-Crolo et à l’ajout du jardin des Métayères. Un restaurant, une tisanerie, une terrasse et une imposante boutique complètent ces changements.

Pour célébrer les beaux jours du printemps et rappeler sa mission éducative par l’histoire, la Maison Saint-Gabriel se rappelle le temps où les érables étaient entaillés sur son site (jusque dans les années 60) et la sève transformée en sirop, alors qu’elle était encore une maison de ferme. Elle invite les Montréalais à vivre quelques heures sucrées en recréant une cabane à sucre le dimanche 12 mars, de 13 h à 17 h.

Y a-t-il une meilleure façon de fêter l’approche du printemps? C’est au temps des sucres que, dans le passé, tout le travail de la ferme se remettait en branle. Les responsables de Les Productions Érable sur neige montent sur le site du musée une vraie cabane à sucre et tous les visiteurs peuvent déguster de la tire sur la neige. Les animateurs et conteurs Francis Désilets et Éric Michaud vous racontent, à leur façon, de belles histoires. Ils sont accompagnés des conteurs Alexis Roy, Marc-André Fortin et de la conteuse Lucie Bisson. Les violonistes Marjorie Deschamps et Pierre-Olivier Dufresne ajouteront une note festive. Des surprises toutes sucrées vous attendent en cet après-midi printanier. Ce dimanche 12 mars inaugure une série d’événements culturels et d’activités innovatrices à l’occasion du 375e anniversaire de la fondation de Montréal.

Droits d’entrée

  • Adultes: 15,00 $
  • Aîné(e)s: 10,00 $
  • Étudiants: 5,00 $
  • Familles (2 adultes – 3 enfants): 25,00 $
    (taxes incluses)

Bouchée de tire : 5,00 $

La Maison Saint-Gabriel est située au 2146, place Dublin, à Pointe-Saint-Charles, à quelques pas du parc Marguerite-Bourgeoys, et près du métro Charlevoix, autobus 57 Est.

Renseignements: 514 935-8136   

Retour