Programme

Press release

DOWSERS NOT WITCHES

Sunday, September 9, 2018, from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

The dowser, also known as a water witch, holds the two ends of his wand firmly, arms outstretched. Palms up, he walks slowly; suddenly his wand starts to vibrate and then point to the ground. It is as if some supernatural force draws the wand toward the ground at a specific location. The dowser says: “That’s where you have to dig for water.”

Some people think that dowsers have a gift, others that they are harnessing the magnetic fields and still others believe that it is all a matter of chance or a deception. What is the truth? In the past, the dowser was an important individual in a village. His gift was never questioned. He was in great demand as a result of his keen sense of observation, his knowledge of the land and his ability to detect sources of water. Today, dowsers have been forgotten and are no longer of any interest to drilling companies, the media and scientists.

On Sunday, September 9, from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m., the museum plans to recreate the effervescence that accompanied the water witch’s work, with its event Dowsers, not witches. A dozen dowsers have been invited to the site of Maison Saint-Gabriel. They will give demonstrations and answer the visitors’ questions. Visitors will even have an opportunity to try a wand. Who knows? They might even feel the magnetic pull of water.

Visitors may also make the most of the beautiful gardens and visit the 2018 temporary exhibit, 350 yrs of history. CThis exhibit presents the history of this architectural jewel, owned by the Congregation of Notre-Dame for 350 years. Learn about its long path through its agricultural vocation and its educational work up to its transformation into a museum.

Back

Programmation

Communiqué

SOURCIERS MAIS PAS SORCIERS

Le dimanche 9 septembre 2018 de 13 h à 17 h

Le sourcier tient fermement les deux extrémités de sa baguette les deux avant-bras tendus devant lui. Les paumes tournées vers le ciel, il avance lentement quand soudain la baguette se met à vibrer, puis pique irrésistiblement en direction du sol. On dirait qu’une force surnaturelle, à un endroit précis, attire la baguette vers les profondeurs du sous-sol. Le sourcier l’affirme : «C’est là qu’il faut creuser pour trouver de l’eau».

Certains pensent que les sourciers ont un don, d’autres qu’il s’agit d’une captation reliée aux champs magnétiques et d’autres encore qu’il s’agit simplement du hasard ou d’une supercherie. Quelle est la vérité? Autrefois, dans les campagnes, le sourcier faisait partie des personnages importants d’un village. Son don n’était pas remis en question. Il était très sollicité, pour son sens de l’observation, sa connaissance des terrains et pour son pouvoir de détecter les sources d’eau. Aujourd’hui, les sourciers sont oubliés et n’intéressent plus vraiment ni les entreprises de forage, ni les médias, ni les scientifiques.

En ce dimanche 9 septembre, de 13 h à 17 h, le musée veut recréer cette effervescence qui accompagnait le travail du sourcier, avec son événement Sourciers mais pas sorciers. Une dizaine de sourciers ont été invités sur le site de la Maison Saint-Gabriel. Ils feront des démonstrations et répondront aux questions des visiteurs. Ceux-ci pourront d’ailleurs essayer de tenir une baguette et qui sait ressentir l’attraction magnétique d’une source d’eau.

Les visiteurs pourront également profiter de la beauté des jardins et de l’exposition temporaire 2018 intitulée 350 ans d’histoire. Cette exposition retrace l’histoire de cette ferme devenue musée et l’incidence du temps sur le paysage montréalais. Découvrez comment la Congrégation de Notre-Dame a réussi à préserver ce précieux patrimoine, tout en demeurant fidèle jusqu’à ce jour à sa mission éducative.

Retour