EDUCATION

LANGUAGE LEARNING PROGRAMME

The proposed activities are intended for Francization groups.

Information and reservations
Telephone: 514 935-8136
Fax: 514 935-5692
Email: mjrcip@globetrotter.net

For you, history takes life

At the museum

Enthusiastic guides will be pleased to welcome you and your group.

2016-2017 educational activity programme

A guided tour of the museum: From the cellar to the attic

La visite guidée du musée De la cave au grenierThe house - a museum to discover. Purchased by Marguerite Bourgeoys in 1668, Maison Saint-Gabriel was both the site where the King’s Wards were housed and the farmhouse for the Congrégation de Notre-Dame. Today, this national historic site of Canada, located in the heart of Montréal, brings the history of New France back to life for its visitors. Follow the enthusiastic guide and discover the museum’s permanent exhibit. You will plunge into the daily life of a century when physical work was essential to survival.

Hours: Tuesday through Friday, from 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. and from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Duration: 120 minutes
Fee: $5.00 / student
Number of students: maximum 60
Type of visit: guided


Sunday outings at the museum

Francis Désilets et Éric MichaudCombining Québec legends and traditional trades with a mixture of culture and history, the Sorties dominicales du musée (Sunday outings at the museum) provide an ideal opportunity for the cultural communities to discover local culture and history. These Sunday activities, which take place in French, come to life in words with story-tellers Éric Michaud, Francis Désilets and Alexis Roy and in traditional song with Monique Jutras while craftspeople demonstrate their skills with workshops: arrow-weaving, spinning, basket-weaving, snowshoe making, glass blowing, nutrition, St. Catherine’s toffee, maple syrup, harvests. A brochure about our culture and heritage will be distributed, in French, at the end of the workshops.

Sunday’s Workshops

  • January 8, 2017 – Brunch of the three wise men
  • March 12, 2017 – Sugaring off time
  • April 9, 2017 – Palm braiding workshop
  • September 3, 2017 Harvest festival
  • October 1st, 2017 – It’s time to make some ketchup
  • November 25, 2017 – Come and celebrate St.Catherine’s day
  • December 3, 2017 – Christmas gifts
  • January 7, 2018 – Brunch of the three wise men
  • February 25, 2018 – Carnival Sunday
  • March 11, 2018 – Sugaring off time
  • March 25, 2018 – Palm braiding workshop
  • May 13, 2018 – Old wives’ remedies
  • June 17, 2018 – Traditional music

Hours: Sunday, from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Duration: 120 minutes
Fee: $10.00
Number of students: maximum 60
Type of visit: Workshops

The temporary exposition 375 years at the heart of the action!

375 ans au cœur de l’action!Since its founding, Montréal was profoundly marked by the contribution of the female religious communities. Women of action, they worked as teachers, nurses, missionaries, architects, musicians, etc. They provided the first services to the people and structured the foundations of our modern social system. This exhibit highlights the diversity, occasionally surprising, of their involvement in the Montréal community and the scope of their heritage. What became of them? Are they still present in the heart of the city?

To know more, click on EXHIBIT.

From May 31 to December 22, 2017
Tuesday through Friday, from 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. and from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Duration: 120 minutes
Fee: $5.00 / student
Number of students: maximum 60
Guided Tours


An arboreal circuit

Trees and time
Several of the trees found on the Maison Saint-Gabriel historical site are more than 100 years old. Some were planted carefully, while others grew from a seed carried here by the wind. They can be classified into approximately 20 species. Discover them with a touch of history in this document, which you can download as a pdf file. Use it when you visit the museum!

On-line

Chronicles
A series of chronicles on themes pertaining to history and daily life in New France are available, royalty-free, for school use.

Educational sites
Sites on architecture and works of art (2 Internet sites)

The Mark of Time
Theme visit on the architecture of Maison Saint-Gabriel, its farmhouse and its neighbourhood.

Artwork Awaiting Discovery
Maison Saint-Gabriel presents a virtual exhibition of nine artists represented in its holdings: William Berczy, Georges Delfosse, Carlo Dolci, Louis Dulongpré, Antoine-Sébastien Falardeau, Théophile Hamel, Pierre LeBer, Antoine Plamondon and William Raphaël. This exhibition is further enriched by works belonging to other museums and heritage institutions.

ÉDUCATION

Programme d’apprentissage des langues

Les activités proposées s'adressent aux groupes de francisation.

Renseignements et réservations
Téléphone: 514 935-8136
Télécopieur: 514 935-5692
Adresse électronique: mjrcip@globetrotter.net

Pour vous, l’histoire prend vie

Au musée

Visites guidées
Des guides dynamiques se feront un plaisir de vous accueillir avec votre groupe.

Programme d’activités éducatives 2017-2018

La visite guidée du musée De la cave au grenier

La visite guidée du musée De la cave au grenierLa maison – un musée à découvrir. Acquise par Marguerite Bourgeoys en 1668, la Maison Saint-Gabriel devient à la fois lieu d’accueil des Filles du Roy et maison de ferme de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame. Aujourd’hui, ce lieu historique national du Canada, situé en plein cœur de Montréal, fait revivre l’histoire de la Nouvelle-France à ses visiteurs. Suivez le guide dynamique et découvrez l’exposition permanente du musée. Vous plongerez dans le quotidien révolu d’un siècle où la force et le travail étaient essentiels à la survie.

Horaire: Du mardi au vendredi, de 9 h 30 à 11 h 30 et de 13 h à 17 h
Durée: 120 minutes
Tarif: 5,00 $ / étudiant
Nombre d’étudiants: maximum 60
Type de visite: visite commentée


Les dimanches au musée

Francis Désilets et Éric MichaudEn passant par les légendes québécoises et les métiers traditionnelles avec un mélange de culture et d’histoire, les Dimanches au musée sont l’occasion rêver pour les communautés culturelles de découvrir la culture et l’histoire d’ici. En français, ces rencontres du dimanche prennent vie en paroles et en musique avec des conteurs et des musiciens. Des artisans et des artisanes démontrent leur savoir-faire avec des ateliers: fléché, filage, vannerie, laçage de raquettes, verre soufflé, alimentation. Une brochure en français sur notre culture et notre patrimoine sera distribuée à la fin des ateliers.

Ateliers du dimanche

  • Le temps des sucres – 12 mars 2017
  • Le tressage des rameaux –  9 avril 2017
  • La fête des récoltes – 3 septembre 2017
  • La cuisson du ketchup – 1er octobre 2017
  • Atelier de jouets anciens – 12 novembre 2017
  • Célébrons la Sainte-Catherine – 25 novembre 2017
  • Le souffleur de verre – 3 décembre 2017
  • Le Brunch des rois mages – 7 janvier 201
  • Le temps des sucres – 11 mars 2018
  • Le tressage des rameaux – 25 mars 2018

Horaire: Le dimanche, de 13 h à 17 h
Durée: 120 minutes
Tarif: 10,00 $
Nombre d’étudiants: maximum 60
Type de visite: Atelier et démonstrations

L’exposition temporaire 375 ans au cœur de l’action!

375 ans au cœur de l’action!Depuis sa fondation, Montréal a été profondément marqué par la contribution des communautés religieuses féminines. Femmes d’action, elles ont été enseignantes, infirmières, missionnaires, architectes, musiciennes, etc. À l’origine des premiers services à la population, elles ont structuré les bases de notre système social moderne. Cette exposition met en lumière la diversité, parfois surprenante, de leur implication dans la communauté montréalaise et l’étendue de leur legs. Que sont-elles devenues? Sont-elles toujours dans l’action?

Pour en savoir plus, cliquez sur EXPOSITION.

Ouvert du 31 mai au 22 décembre 2017
Du mardi au vendredi, de 9 h 30 à 11 h 30 et de 13 h à 17 h
Durée : 2 heures
Prix : 5 $ / élève
Nombre : 60 maximum
Visite guidée

Projet financé dans le cadre de l'Entente sur le développement culturel de Montréal par la Ville de Montréal et le ministère de la Culture et des Communications.


Un circuit arboricole

Des arbres et du temps
Plusieurs des arbres que l’on voit sur le site historique de la Maison Saint-Gabriel ont plus de 100 ans. Certains ont été plantés avec soin, d’autres sont nés d’une graine poussée par les caprices du vent. Ils peuvent être regroupés en une vingtaine d’espèces. Découvrez-les avec une touche d’histoire dans ce document à télécharger en format pdf. Ne manquez pas de l’utiliser lors de votre visite au musée.

En ligne

Chroniques
Une série de chroniques sur des thèmes reliés à l’histoire et à la vie quotidienne en Nouvelle-France sont disponibles et libres de droits pour utilisation scolaire.

Sites éducatifs
Sites sur l'architecture et les oeuvres d'art (2 sites Internet)

L'empreinte du temps
Visite thématique portant sur l'architecture de la Maison Saint-Gabriel, sa métairie et son quartier.

Des oeuvres à découvrir
Exposition virtuelle regoupant 9 artistes représentés dans ses collections: William Berczy, Georges Delfosse, Carlo Dolci, Louis Dulongpré, Antoine-Sébastien Falardeau, Théophile Hamel, Pierre LeBer, Antoine Plamondon et William Raphaël. Cette exposition est enrichie d'oeuvres appartenant à d'autres institutions muséales et lieux patrimoniaux.