Collections

Furniture

Profane furniture | Religious furniture

Profane furniture

Seats | Clocks | Chests | Tables | Buffets and armoires

Seats

Four types of seats were used in Quebec: chairs, armchairs, rocking chairs and benches. The most primitive seat was probably the tree trunk, which was replaced by the bench (simple planks of pine placed on large feet, either with or without a back). In addition to the tree trunk, the log was probably the most rudimentary seat the first arrivals here used in their dwellings, which gave rise to the French expression “tire-toi une bûche” (translation: “pull up a log”), which was often used to invite someone to take a seat. Offering a seat to someone was a very widespread sign of hospitality among the first settlers here.

Chairs

In the 17th century, the straight-backed chair was widespread in the homes of French peasants. In Canada it was already very popular as well. It was used along with benches and stools. The most common types were made of lumber or consisted of straw seats and wood that had been worked on a lathe. There are two types of straight-backed chairs: those that were based on a grand style borrowed from French, English and other creations or those that arose out of the artisanal ingenuity of the first colonists, such as the “chaise à Capucine”. Over the centuries, a large variety of chairs appeared as a result of English and American influences.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Chair

Chair
1994.1059

Chair

Chair
Early 19th century
1994.558

Chair

Chair
1994.658

Chair

Chair
Early 20th century
1994.63

Rocking chair

Rocking chair 1994.607

Commode chair

Commode chair
19th century
1994.655

Armchairs

Several inventories, starting in 1657, refer to armchairs. The French word for armchair, fauteuil, appeared in about 1673. Armchairs were never produced in as large numbers as straight-backed chairs. The armchair remained a luxury item reserved for members of the bourgeoisie who were comfortably off. The French influence was predominant until 1800 but, after that date, Anglo-American styles gradually replaced French style.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Armchair

Armchair
1994.24.2

Armchair

Armchair
1994.13

Armchair

Armchair
1994.3

Armchair

Armchair
1994.32

Armchair à la capucine

“Capucine” chair
1994.28

Benches

Stools, step stools and benches were used from the first days of the colony. These pieces of furniture were found in all homes, whether they belonged to the rich or poor, in French-Canada. These seats had no backs and were easy to move about. They were placed on each side of the table in the common room and, when evening came, they were lined up along the walls for get-togethers. In the 18th century, benches with backs appeared in the rural home. There is also the coffer-bench that was placed beside the bed. It served as a chest for storing linen and a bench for climbing into bed.

Another bench appeared in France in the 16th century: the bench-bed. It was only in the 19th century that this type of bench came into use in Canada. It served both as a seat and it opened up into a bed at night. In Canada, it was called a beggar’s bed. In settler families, which had large numbers of children, it was common practice to install four children, arranged side by side on a bed of straw or a mat. If the children did not sleep in the beggar’s bed, it was reserved for passing beggars who were given hospitality for a night, which is where the name came from.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Bench

Bench
1994.1161

Bench

Bench
1994.177

Carding bench

Carding bench
1994.139

Clocks

Under the French Regime, the inhabitants had several ways for telling time. The most skilful could, of course, simply glance at the position of the sun and estimate the time of day. At night, a graduated candle burned at a pace of approximately one inch every 20 minutes and the hourglass was obviously of great help to the pioneer. The sundial was also used at that time and provided greater accuracy. Lateally, the clock, a more complex and costly instrument, could be heard in the common rooms of several peasant homes, starting in the 17th century.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Clock de parquet

Grandfather clock
Early 19th century
1994.690.1-2

Clock de parquet

Grandfather clock
19th century
1994.84.1-3

Clock Ansonia

Clock
Ansonia
Early 20th century
1994.76

Clock 
       Westclock America

Clock
Westclock America
1994.2643.1-2

Sablier

Hourglass
Late 17th century
1994.1350

Chests

The chest is the ancestor of all of our furniture. Before the 16th century, furniture in Europe was extremely simple and plain. It included chests or trunks, massive tables, benches, step stools and beds. The rich used chests to store their clothing, money and jewellery. They took their chests with them when travelling. The peasants in turn used chests to store their clothing and food.

These chests or trunks were the first pieces of furniture to come to New France. In the 17th century, the settlers considered chests very important and this attachment persisted until the 1960s. Just a few short years ago, the cedar chest was an essential item that a young girl in the country or city needed for her marriage trousseau.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Chest

Chest
Late 17th century
1994.576

Tables

The table was an essential item in any ancestral dwelling and everywhere, during the French Regime, mortuary inventories mention square, round and oval dining tables. The religious communities were among the few groups to use long rectangular tables. A multitude of small tables, in a large variety of sizes, existed: serving tables, small dressing tables, demi-lune tables, work tables, found primarily in convents, and candlestands. As many types which, with their simple decorations, arose out of the peasant imagination. Washstands were one example found in the 19th century.

Another type of table appeared at the end of the 18th century, the drop-leaf table, followed by the large oak or walnut tables inspired by the English Regency or even Victorian style.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Table

Table
1994.1125

Table

Table
1994.2786

Buffets and armoires

Buffets and armoires grew out of chests. The Quebec armoire is no doubt the best known, the most representative and the most sought after of furniture inspired by French furniture. The first armoires took their inspiration from the Renaissance and Louis XIII styles. For more than 150 years, our craftsmen built such items by borrowing shapes and decorative elements from regional French designs and introducing many personal varieties.

Buffets were found in the common room or the kitchen in most ancestral dwellings. These pieces of furniture were used to store linen and dishes as well as food, and came in a variety of styles and shapes.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Armoire

Armoire
Early 19th century
1994.380

Buffet

Buffet
Early 19th century
1994.171.1-3

Collections

Ameublement

Ameublement profane | Ameublement religieux

Ameublement profane

Sièges | Horloges | Coffres | Tables | Buffets et armoires

Sièges

Les sièges utilisés au Québec se subdivisent en quatre types: les chaises, les fauteuils, les berceuses et les bancs. Le siège le plus primitif a probablement été le billot, auquel succède le banc, de simples planches de pin sur des pieds grossiers, avec ou sans dossier. Avec le billot, la bûche est le siège le plus rudimentaire que les premiers arrivants utilisent dans leurs habitations, d’où l’expression «tire-toi une bûche» souvent utilisée pour inviter quelqu’un à prendre un siège. Offrir un siège à quelqu’un est un geste d’hospitalité très répandu chez l’habitant.

Chaises

Au 17e siècle, la chaise droite est peu répandue dans les foyers paysans français; au Canada, elle est déjà fort en usage. Elle s’ajoute aux bancs et aux tabourets. Les types les plus communs sont les chaises de bois d’assemblage et les chaises paillées et tournées. Il y a deux espèces de chaises droites: celles qui s’inspirent d’un grand style - et on retrouve de vastes emprunts aux créations françaises ou anglaises - et les autres, qui naissent de l’ingéniosité artisanale des premiers colons comme la chaise «à la Capucine». Au fil des siècles, une grande variété de chaises apparaît à cause des influences anglaises et américaines.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Chaise

Chaise
1994.1059

Chaise

Chaise
Début 19e siècle 1994.558

Chaise

Chaise
1994.658

Chaise

Chaise
Début 20e siècle 1994.63

Chaise à bascule

Chaise à bascule 1994.607

Chaise de commodité

Chaise de commodité
19e siècle 1994.655

Fauteuils

Plusieurs inventaires, à partir de 1657, mentionnent des «chaises à bras». Le mot fauteuil apparaît vers 1673. La production de fauteuils n’a jamais été aussi abondante que celle des chaises droites. Le fauteuil demeure un article luxueux réservé aux seuls bourgeois aisés. L’influence française est prépondérante jusqu’en 1800 mais, après cette date, les apports anglo-américains vont graduellement supplanter la mode française.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Fauteuil

Fauteuil
1994.24.2

Fauteuil

Fauteuil
1994.13

Fauteuil

Fauteuil
1994.3

Fauteuil

Fauteuil
1994.32

Fauteuil à la capucine

Fauteuil à la capucine
1994.28

Bancs

Tabourets, escabeaux et bancs sont en usage dès le début de la colonie. On retrouve ces meubles dans tous les foyers paysans, riches ou pauvres, du Canada français. Ce sont des sièges qui n’ont pas de dossier et que l’on déplace facilement. Ils sont placés de chaque côté de la table dans la salle commune et, le soir venu, on les range le long du mur pour les veillées. Au 18e siècle, des bancs à dossiers apparaissent dans la maison rurale. Il existe également le bac-coffre placé contre le lit. Il sert de coffre pour ranger le linge et de marchepied pour monter dans le lit.

Un autre banc fait son apparition en France au 16e siècle, c’est le banc-lit. Mais ce n’est qu’au début du 19e siècle que ce type de banc voit le jour au Canada. Il sert à la fois de siège et de coffre et, la nuit, de couche. On l’appelle au Canada, le banc de quêteux. Dans les familles paysannes où les enfants sont nombreux, il est normal que l’on y place jusqu’à quatre petits enfants qui dorment «pieds à pieds» sur un fond de paille ou un paillasson. Si les enfants n’y couchent pas, ce banc est réservé au mendiant de passage à qui on donne l’hospitalité pour la nuit, d’où l’appellation banc de quêteux.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Banc

Banc
1994.1161

Banc

Banc
1994.177

Banc à cardes

Banc à cardes
1994.139

Horloges

Sous le Régime français, les habitants connaissent diverses manières de mesurer le temps. Les plus habitués peuvent sans doute, en donnant un simple coup d’œil sur la position du soleil, dire à peu de chose près à quel moment de la journée ils en sont. La nuit, la chandelle graduée brûlant de un pouce en vingt minutes ou le sablier viennent sans doute à la rescousse du pionnier. Le cadran solaire est également en usage pour plus de précision. Enfin, l’horloge, instrument plus complexe et plus coûteux, se fait entendre dans la salle commune de plusieurs maisons paysannes et cela dès le 17e siècle.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Horloge de parquet

Horloge de parquet
Début 19e siècle
1994.690.1-2

Horloge de parquet

Horloge de parquet
19e siècle
1994.84.1-3

Horloge Ansonia

Horloge
Ansonia
Début 20e siècle
1994.76

Horloge 
       Westclock America

Horloge
Westclock America
1994.2643.1-2

Sablier

Sablier
Fin 17e siècle
1994.1350

Coffres

Le coffre est l’ancêtre de tous nos meubles. Avant le 16e siècle, le mobilier en Europe, est extrêmement simple et réduit. On n’y trouve que des coffres ou bahuts, des tables massives, des bancs, des escabeaux et des lits. Dans les coffres, les riches rangent leurs vêtements, leur argenterie et leurs bijoux. Ils les emportent en voyage. Les paysans adoptent le coffre pour ranger leurs vêtements et leurs victuailles.

Ces coffres ou bahuts sont les premiers meubles qui pénètrent en Nouvelle-France. Au 17e siècle, les habitants leur attachent beaucoup d’importance et cet attrait va persister jusque dans les années 60. Il y a quelques années seulement, le coffre de cèdre est encore l’article indispensable que la jeune fille de la campagne ou de la ville doit d’abord posséder pour préparer son trousseau de mariage.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Coffre

Coffre
Fin du 17e siècle
1994.576

Tables

La table est un article indispensable à toute habitation ancestrale et partout, au temps du Régime français, les inventaires après décès font mention de tables à manger carrées, rondes ou ovales; les communautés religieuses sont à peu près les seules à faire usage de longues tables rectangulaires. Nous retrouvons une multitude de petites tables aux formes très variées. Tables à desservir (dessertes) petites tables coiffeuses, demi-lunes, «travailleuses», qu’on retrouve surtout dans les couvents, guéridon porte-chandelier. Autant de types qui, décorés naïvement, surgissent de l’imagination paysanne. Les tables de toilette «lave-mains» en sont un exemple au cours du 19e siècle.

Un autre type de table apparaît à la fin du 18e siècle, c’est cette table à abattants et finalement, ce sont les grosses tables de chêne ou de noyer s’inspirant du Regency anglais ou encore de la mode victorienne.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Table

Table
1994.1125

Table

Table
1994.2786

Buffets et armoires

Les buffets et les armoires dérivent du coffre. L’armoire québécoise est sans doute l’article le mieux connu, le plus représentatif et le plus recherché de notre mobilier d’inspiration française. Les premières armoires s’inspirent du style Renaissance et Louis XIII. Pendant plus de 150 ans, nos artisans façonnent de tels articles en empruntant formes et éléments décoratifs à la menuiserie régionale française et en introduisant de nombreuses variantes personnelles.

Les buffets demeurent un article du mobilier qu’on retrouve dans la salle commune ou la cuisine dans la plupart des habitations ancestrales. Ces meubles servant à ranger le linge et la vaisselle ainsi que les aliments se présentent de différentes manières et de différentes formes.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Armoire

Armoire
début du 19e siècle
1994.380

Buffet

Buffet
début du 19e siècle
1994.171.1-3