Collections

Arts

Decorative arts | Textiles | Stamps | Pious images | Working with precious metals
Sculpture | Painting

Working with precious metals

Religious works | Lay works

The art of goldsmithing and silversmithing dates back to ancient times. Almost 25 centuries before our era, the Egyptian, Sasanian, Mycenaean and other civilizations were familiar with these techniques. Goldsmithing and silversmithing refer to the art of giving certain precious metals artistic value. The word used in French is “orfevrerie”, which indicates that this type of work used only gold at the outset. Later, as a result of the scarcity and costliness of this metal, goldsmiths also used silver in their trade.

Goldsmithing and silversmithing, which were above all utilitarian arts, depend on the use made of precious metals, particularly silver, in worship even more than in daily life. As in the case of architecture and sculpture, a sense of beauty led craftsmen to strive for balance in their designs, elegance in the lines or their work and grace in their decoration.

As soon as life became relatively comfortable after the Conquest and clients became numerous, the talent of the artists grew in scope and was demonstrated through works worthy of admiration.

Religious works

For parishes and religious communities, using sacred silver vases was a moral obligation. Certain pieces of religious metalware, such as incense burners and holy water basins, were sometimes made of copper. However, once a parish had sufficient means, it would order silver pieces.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Holy water basin

Holy water basin
1994.43

Holy water basin

Holy water basin
1994.1445

Sanctuary lamp

Sanctuary lamp
1994.1198

Lay works

Silver tableware was not a necessity but a luxury and a symbol of prosperity. One piece, marked with the owner’s number – generally a goblet or porringer – was sufficient. More often, people would order silver cutlery. This cost less than the larger pieces and did not wear easily. A middle-class person might have enough money to have a porringer made, which would then be passed down the generations. The heirs, in turn, would order a lid for the porringer from another silversmith.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Coffee pot

Coffee pot
1994.1779.1-2

Footed bowl

Footed bowl
1994.1747.1-2

Serving platter

Serving platter
1994.1998.1-2

Milk jar

Milk jar
1994.3643

Collections

Arts

Arts décoratifs | Textiles | Estampes | Images pieuses | Orfèvrerie
Sculpture | Peinture

Orfèvrerie

Religieuse | Profane

L’art de l’orfèvrerie remonte à la plus haute antiquité, Déjà, près de vingt siècles avant notre ère, les civilisations égyptienne, sassanide, mycénienne... connaissent cette technique. «L’orfèvrerie est l’art de mettre en valeur artistique certains métaux réputés précieux » Si l’on considère étymologiquement le mot «orfèvrerie», nous constatons qu’à l’origine il ne s’agit que du travail de l’or. Plus tard, à cause de la rareté et la cherté de ce métal, les orfèvres exercent également leur métier avec l’argent.

L’orfèvrerie, étant d’abord un art utilitaire, dépend de l’usage qu’on fait des métaux précieux, surtout de l’argent, dans l’exercice du culte plus encore que dans la vie civile. Tout comme pour l’architecture et la sculpture, le sens du beau conduit les artisans à l’équilibre dans la composition, à l’élégance des lignes et à la grâce de l’ornementation.

Aussitôt qu’une certaine aisance se fit sentir, après la Conquête, et que la clientèle devient considérable, le talent des artisans prend de l’ampleur et se déploie dans des œuvres qui sont dignes d’admiration.

Religieuse

Pour les fabriques et les communautés, le fait d’avoir des vases sacrés en argent est une obligation morale. Certaines pièces d’orfèvrerie religieuse, telles qu’encensoirs et bénitiers, sont parfois en cuivre mais toutes les fabriques, lorsqu’elles disposent de sommes suffisantes, finissent par commander des pièces d’argent.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Bénitier

Bénitier
1994.43

Bénitier

Bénitier
1994.1445

Lampe de sanctuaire

Lampe de sanctuaire
1994.1198

Profane

Une orfèvrerie de table en argent n’est pas une nécessité, mais un luxe et un symbole de prospérité. Une pièce ou deux, marquées au chiffre du propriétaire – généralement gobelet et écuelle – suffisent. Il est plus fréquent de commander sa coutellerie en argent; cela coûte moins cher que les grosses pièces et présente l’avantage de ne pas s’user facilement. Un bourgeois peut avoir assez d’argent pour faire exécuter une écuelle qui se transmet ensuite par héritage. Ses descendants commandent le couvercle de cette écuelle à un autre orfèvre.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Cafetière

Cafetière
1994.1779.1-2

Coupe sur pied

Coupe sur pied
1994.1747.1-2

Plat de service

Plat de service
1994.1998.1-2

Pot à lait

Pot à lait
1994.3643