Collections

Arts

Decorative arts | Textiles | Stamps | Pious images | Working with precious metals
Sculpture | Painting

Sculpture

Wood | Plaster | Wax

The French word “imagier” (image sculptor) dates back to the Middle Ages and seems much more appropriate for describing these sculptors who made works intended for worship and popular devotions. These sculptors were often ornamental architects or vice versa. The individuals sculpted were part of the decor: nooks in tabernacles and altarpieces held sculptures of patron saints; the bas-reliefs on wall panels, pulpits or altars evoke religious scenes and serve to instruct and educate the faithful.

Sculptors worked essentially with wood although they sometimes used paper-mâché or wax. The sculptures were always gilded, flesh-toned or polychromatic. This technique is very old. The art of gilding and polychromatic coloring has been practiced by artists since ancient times. Unfortunately, gilding with gold leaf or polychromatic sculptures with their rich tones have rarely survived to our times in their original state.

Some samples of sculptures made of paper-mâché, plaster or waxen still exist. Obviously, given their fragility, fewer of these works have survived.

Wood

From the very earliest days, churches in the colony were decorated with religious statues that encourage the people to worship. The represented the Archangel Michael, St. Joseph, the Virgin Mary, the Holy Family, and the holy anglels. They were made of wood, initially sculpted by French craftmen, and then later by local artisans, such as the Lavasseur and Baillargé sculptors. In the 19th century, Louis Jobin was one of the most famous wood carvers in Quebec.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Sculpture Virgin and child

Sculpture
Virgin and child
Late 17th century
1994.1581

Sculpture St. Madeleine

Sculpture
St. Madeleine
Dauphin, Claude
Late 19th century
1994.1192.1

Sculpture St. John

Sculpture
St. John
Dauphin, Claude
Late 19th century
1994.2796

High relief sculpture Holy spirit

High relief sculpture
Holy spirit
Durocher, Urbain, attribuée à
Early 19th century
1994.1474

Sculpture St. Joseph and Jesus as a child

Sculpture
St. Joseph and Jesus as a child
1994.536

Sculpture The Wandering Bishop

Sculpture
The Wandering Bishop
Early 20th century
1994.1489

Plaster

Statute makers, sculptors and ornamentists, bringing their traditions and knowledge in the art of religions sculptures with them from Italy, started to make a name for themselves in Montreal in anout 1850. They worked with marble, stucco, stone and plaster.

At the start of the 20th century, plaster statues become very important. The Carli and Petrucci families were two of the most important statute makers in Montreal. They made statues for churches, shrines and grottos as well as statuettes that the faithful could keep in their homes.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Figurine Virgin and child

Figurine
Virgin and child
Late 18th century
1994.253

Sculpture St. Charles Borromée

Sculpture
St. Charles Borromée
Early
20th century
1994.1578

Sculpture Virgin and snake

Sculpture
Virgin and snake
Late 17th century
1994.1599

Statuette Our Lady of Victory

Statuette
Our Lady of Victory
Late 19th century
1994.364

Statuette St. Joseph and Jesus as a child

Statuette
St. Joseph and Jesus as a child
1994.669

Wax

In 1855, Queen Victoria agreed to show one of her portrait, made with her hair, at the Paris World Exposition. From that time, wax statutes and works made with hair became increasingly popular during the Victorian era (1837-1901). It was considered good taste to have a work made of wax or hair in the salons of middle-class homes.

This fashion also became popular in Quebec in the 19th century. Nuns specialized in making bouquets of flowers, the Agnus Dei, wax dolls that were kept under glass or uused for Christmas nativity scenes andsmall, was funerary monuments, including decorations made with the hair of the deceased.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Figurine Virgin and child

Figurine
Virgin and child
Early 18th century
1994.260

Statue Baby Jesus

Statue
Baby Jesus
20th century
1994.173.1.1-4

Collections

Arts

Arts décoratifs | Textiles | Estampes | Images pieuses | Orfèvrerie
Sculpture | Peinture

Sculpture

Bois | Plâtre | Cire

Le terme imagier nous vient du moyen âge. Il semble bien le plus propre pour désigner ces sculpteurs qui ont façonné des œuvres destinées au culte et aux dévotions populaires. Les imagiers furent souvent des architectes ornemanistes ou vice versa. Les personnages sculptés font partie du décor: les niches des tabernacles et des retables reçoivent les saints patrons; les bas-reliefs des panneaux des murs, des chaires ou des autels évoquent des scènes bibliques et servent à l’instruction et à l’édification du peuple fidèle.

Les imagiers ont surtout œuvré dans le bois. Ils ont quelquefois utilisé le papier-pâte ou la cire. Les sculptures sont toujours dorées et carnées ou polychromes. Cette vieille façon de faire remonte très loin. L’art de la dorure et de la polychromie est pratiqué par les artistes depuis l’antiquité. Malheureusement, ces dorures à la feuille ou ces polychromies aux tons si riches nous sont rarement parvenues dans leur était originel.

Quant aux sculptures en papier-pâte, en plâtre ou en cire, nous en trouvons encore quelques exemplaires. Il est aisé de comprendre que la fragilité de leur matière ne leur ait pas permis de parvenir aussi facilement jusqu’à nous.

Bois

Depuis le début de la colonie, les églises sont ornées de statues religieuses favorisant la dévotion populaire. Elles représentent saint Michel archange, saint Joseph, la Vierge, la sainte Famille et les saints Anges. Elles sont en bois, sculptées d’abord par des artisans français et ensuite par des artisans d’ici, tels les Levasseur et les Baillargé. Au 19e siècle, Louis Jobin est l’un des plus importants sculpteurs sur bois du Québec.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Sculpture Vierge à l’Enfant

Sculpture
Vierge à l’Enfant
Fin du 17e siècle
1994.1581

Sculpture Sainte Madeleine

Sculpture
Sainte Madeleine
Dauphin, Claude
Fin du 19e siècle
1994.1192.1

Sculpture Saint Jean

Sculpture
Saint Jean
Dauphin, Claude
Fin du 19e siècle
1994.2796

Sculpture haut-relief Saint Esprit

Sculpture haut-relief
Saint Esprit
Durocher, Urbain, attribuée à
Début du 19e siècle
1994.1474

Sculpture Saint Joseph et l’Enfant-Jésus

Sculpture
Saint Joseph
et l’Enfant-Jésus

1994.536

Sculpture L’Évêque errant

Sculpture
L’Évêque errant
Début du 20e siècle
1994.1489

Plâtre

Des statuaires, sculpteurs et ornemanistes venus d’Italie et apportant avec eux leur tradition et leur savoir-faire dans l’art de la sculpture religieuse, commencent à s’imposer à Montréal vers 1850. Ils travaillent le marbre, le stuc, la pierre et le plâtre.

Au début du 20e siècle, la statuaire de plâtre occupe une place majeure. Les Carli et Petrucci sont les deux plus importantes familles de statuaires de Montréal. Ils réalisent des statues pour les églises, les niches, les grottes, mais aussi des statuettes que les fidèles installent dans leur maison.

Cette forme de dévotion populaire, prenant ses racines au 16e siècle dans le sillage du concile de Trente, s’atténue au début des années 60. Le deuxième concile œcuménique du Vatican (1962-1965), convoqué par le pape Jean XXIII, adapte la liturgie catholique et invite les fabriques à ne garder que l’essentiel des représentations religieuses.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Figurine Vierge à l’Enfant

Figurine
Vierge à l’Enfant
Fin du 18e siècle
1994.253

Sculpture Saint Charles Borromée

Sculpture
Saint Charles Borromée
Début du
20e siècle
1994.1578

Sculpture Vierge au Serpent

Sculpture
Vierge au Serpent
Fin du 17e siècle
1994.1599

Statuette Notre-Dame-des-Victoires

Statuette
Notre-Dame-des-Victoires
Fin du 19e siècle
1994.364

Statuette Saint Joseph et l’Enfant-Jésus

Statuette
Saint Joseph et l’Enfant-Jésus
1994.669

Cire

En 1855, la reine Victoria accepte d’exposer un de ses portraits, fait de ses cheveux, à l’Exposition Universelle de Paris. Depuis lors, la statuaire de cire et les œuvres réalisées avec des cheveux prennent un essor important sous l’ère victorienne (1837-1901). Il est de bon goût d’avoir dans les salons des demeures bourgeoises, une œuvre en cire ou en cheveux.

Cette mode a cours aussi au Québec au 19e siècle. Ce sont les religieuses qui se spécialisent dans la fabrication de bouquets de fleurs, d’Agnus Dei, de poupées de cire mises sous verre ou utilisées pour les crèches de Noël, et de petits monuments funéraires de cire, incluant des décorations faites avec les cheveux des personnes défuntes.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Figurine Vierge à l’Enfant

Figurine
Vierge à l’Enfant
Début du 18e siècle
1994.260

Statue Enfant-Jésus

Statue
Enfant-Jésus
20e siècle
1994.173.1.1-4