Collections

Communication

Post cards | Books | Stereograms | Sound

Sound

Bells | Other objects

Communication objects that produce sound include bells, rattles, clappers, megaphones and so on. These objects recall a stage in the history of “communication”.

Bells

In addition to their symbolic value, bells are truly one of the means of communication that have maintained the largest listening ratings in history. They announce happy and unhappy events and warn of danger. They provide a rhythm for and enliven our lives. They call us constantly.

The language of bells obeys precise codes. Can we understand their messages?

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Bell

Bell
1994.1183

Table bell

Table bell
1994.2342

Hand bell

Hand bell
1994.45

Hand bell

Hand bell
1994.2344

Cow bell

Cow bell
1994.903

Desk bell

Desk bell
1994.3607

School bell

School bell
1998.8

Hand bell

Hand bell
1996.68

Bell

Bell
1999.21

Hand bell

Hand bell
Late 18th century
1994.2347

Other objects

In addition to bells, other objects were created for communication. The megaphone and foghorn were long used on boats during lengthy trips. Other communication objects such as the clapper or rattle produced sound and had a language of their own.

Jean-Baptiste de La Salle provided a detail description of the clapper, that piece of wood that opens at one end like the beak of a bird and produces a sharp sound when closed. “Every time a good student hears the sound of a single snap of the clapper, he will imagine that he hears the voice of his Teacher or even the voice of God himself, calling his name.”

The rattle, a small instrument consisting of a cogwheel and a flexible strip of wood, produced a distinctive sound and had its own language. For example, lepers carried rattles to announce their approach.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Clapper

Clapper
1994.1348

Clapper

Clapper
1994.1365

Clapper

Clapper
1994.2303.1-2

Pocket clapper

Pocket clapper
1994.1345

Fog horn

Fog horn
1994.1023

Rattle

Rattle
1994.2335

Collections

Communication

Cartes postales | Livres | Stéréogrammes | Son

Son

Cloches | Autres objets

Parmi les objets de communication, signalons ceux émettent des sons tels la cloche, la crécelle, le claquoir, le porte-voix... Ces objets rappellent une étape de l’histoire de «communication».

Cloches

Outre leur valeur symbolique, les cloches se classent vraisemblablement parmi les moyens de communication ayant maintenu les plus grandes cotes d’écoute de l’histoire. Elles annoncent les événements heureux ou malheureux et avertissent du danger. Elles rythment et agrémentent nos vies. Sans cesse elles nous interpellent.

Le langage des cloches obéit à des codes précis. Savons-nous comprendre leurs messages?

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Cloche

Cloche
1994.1183

Cloche de table

Cloche de table
1994.2342

Clochette

Clochette
1994.45

Clochette

Clochette
1994.2344

Clochette à vache

Clochette à vache
1994.903

Clochette à pupitre

Clochette à pupitre
1994.3607

Cloche d’école

Cloche d’école
1998.8

Clochette

Clochette
1996.68

Cloche

Cloche
1999.21

Clochette

Clochette
Fin 18e siècle
1994.2347

Autres objets

En plus des cloches, d’autres objets sont créés pour la communication. Le porte-voix ou corne de brume a été longtemps utilisé sur les bateaux lors des longues traversées. Objets de communication, le claquoir ou signal, ou encore la crécelle sont parmi les objets produisant des sons et ayant un langage.

Jean-Baptiste de La Salle a décrit en détail le signal, ce morceau de bois qui s’ouvre en son extrémité, comme un «bec d’oiseau» et produit en se refermant un bruit sec. «Un bon écolier - précise-t-il - toutes les fois qu’il entendra le bruit d’un seul coup de signal s’imaginera entendre la voix du Maître, ou plutôt la voix de Dieu même, qui l’appelle par son nom.»

La crécelle, petit instrument constitué d’un moulinet denté et d’une languette de bois flexible, émettait un son particulier et avait son propre langage. Par exemple, les lépreux agitaient une crécelle pour annoncer leur approche.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Claquoir

Claquoir
1994.1348

Claquoir

Claquoir
1994.1365

Claquoir

Claquoir
1994.2303.1-2

Claquoir de poche

Claquoir de poche
1994.1345

Corne de brume

Corne de brume
1994.1023

Crécelle

Crécelle
1994.2335