Collarlections

Clothing

Religious clothing | Profane clothing

Profane clothing

Accessories | Clothing

Clothing, unlike furniture and tools, does not last. For almost all people, clothing plays an important role in society, in lay and religious matters.

In the two decades that followed the founding of Ville-Marie, the style of the clothing worn by the colonists was, of course, borrowed from the mother country, France. It was only after 1663 that a radical change was noted and clothing was adapted to the country.

Accessories

In addition to clothing, people also wore accessories, which served to complement or often enhance the look of their attire. Hair clips, hat pins, glasses, purses, shoes, boots, hats, bags, gloves, scarves, etc. are all important accessories for men as well as women.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Hair clip

Hair clip
1994.2530

Purse

Purse
After 1825
1994.1885

Hat pin

Hat pin
1995.9

Glasses

Glasses
1994.226

Glasses

Glasses
1994.230.1-2

Slipper

Slipper
1994.1897.1-2

Wallet

Wallet
After 1850
1994.300

Clog

Clog
2000.18.1-2

Handbag

Handbag
Early 20th century
1994.2531

Shoe

Shoe
Late 18th century
1994.234.1-2

Clothing

For the first settlers, adapting to New France involved making changes, particularly when it came to clothing. In the case of men’s apparel, certain immigrants, particularly tradesmen who settled in the city, remained attached to the clothing styles of France. Drawings and stamps provide evidence of this attachment.

Nevertheless, it would be wrong to think that Canadian-style clothing was worn by the entire male population. It was primarily used by those who had to face the harsh realities of the climate. However, everyone acknowledges that Canadian-style clothing was better suited for the country. For their part, women continued to base their clothing on fashions worn in France. A Montreal woman of 1676 would have recognized herself in an engraving by Bonnard showing a common woman of Paris.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Blouse

Blouse
1994.1895

Bolero

Bolero
1994.1915

Bonnet

Bonnet
1995.77

Camisole

Camisole
1998.10

Camisole

Camisole
1997.121

Slipper

Slipper
1998.3.4.1-2

Slipper

Slipper
1998.4.5.1-2

Coif

Coif
1994.1928

Collar

Collar
1994.3394

Petticoat

Petticoat
1999.1.3

Slip

Slip
1998.7

Dress

Dress
1998.3.1

Dress

Dress
1994.1896.1

Apron

Apron
1994.1867

Collections

Habillement

Habillement religieux | Habillement profane

Habillement profane

Accessoires | Vêtements

Les vêtements, à la différence des meubles et des outils, ne sont pas durables. Chez presque tous les peuples, le vêtement joue un rôle important dans la société, tant au niveau profane que religieux.

Dans les vingt années qui suivirent la fondation de Ville-Marie, la tenue vestimentaire de ses habitants conserve un cachet foncièrement emprunté de la mère-patrie, la France. Ce n’est qu’après 1663, que l’on constate un changement radical et adapté au pays.

Accessoires

Outre les vêtements, l’habillement tient compte des accessoires. Ceux-ci viennent compléter et souvent rehausser la tenue vestimentaire : barrette à cheveux, épingle à chapeau, lunettes, sac à main, soulier, bottes, chapeau, bourse, gants, foulard, etc., tous des accessoires importants dans l’habillement autant chez l’homme que chez la femme.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Barrette à cheveux

Barrette à cheveux
1994.2530

Bourse

Bourse
Après 1825
1994.1885

Épingle à chapeau

Épingle à chapeau
1995.9

Lunettes

Lunettes
1994.226

Lunettes

Lunettes
1994.230.1-2

Pantoufles

Pantoufles
1994.1897.1-2

Portefeuille

Portefeuille
Après 1850
1994.300

Sabots

Sabots
2000.18.1-2

Sac à main

Sac à main
Début 20e siècle
1994.2531

Souliers

Souliers
Fin 18e siècle
1994.234.1-2

Vêtements

Pour les premiers arrivants, l’adaptation à la Nouvelle-France comporte des changements, surtout dans l’habillement. Dans le costume masculin, certains immigrants, notamment les artisans qui s’installent en ville, restent attachés aux modes vestimentaires de la France. Des dessins et des estampes témoignent de cet attachement.

On a tort toutefois de croire que le costume à la canadienne est porté par l’ensemble de la population masculine. Il est utilisé surtout par ceux qui sont obligés de faire face aux réalités du climat. Cependant, tous reconnaissent que le costume à la canadienne est mieux adapté au pays. De leur côté, les femmes continuent à calquer leurs vêtements sur ceux qui se portent en France. Une Montréalaise de 1676 se serait reconnue dans une gravure de Bonnard représentant une femme du peuple de Paris.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Blouse

Blouse
1994.1895

Boléro

Boléro
1994.1915

Bonnet

Bonnet
1995.77

Camisole

Camisole
1998.10

Camisole

Camisole
1997.121

Chaussons

Chaussons
1998.3.4.1-2

Chaussons

Chaussons
1998.4.5.1-2

Coiffe

Coiffe
1994.1928

Col

Col
1994.3394

Cotillon

Cotillon
1999.1.3

Jupon

Jupon
1998.7

Robe

Robe
1998.3.1

Robe

Robe
1994.1896.1

Tablier

Tablier
1994.1867