Collections

Domestic objects

Food | Lighting | Housekeeping objects | Heating

Food

Wood | Metal | Ceramics | Glass

The Canadian kitchen was particularly well-equipped with a wide variety of utensils. Pewter utensils were less expensive and more common. The buffet and the pantry would be filled with spoons, plates, bowls, goblets, salt shakers, cups, and various platters, all made of pewter. Tin utensils were fairly common in country kitchens: dripping pans, blood pudding funnels, funnels, pie plates, cheese plates, skimmers, milk strainers, cruets, goblets and pepper boxes.

Wood

Wood was the material which our Quebec ancestors used the most. All the types of wood found in our forests (pine, spruce, maple, yellow birch, walnut) were used to make a large variety of kitchen items. These items were hollowed out, lathed and sculpted in the tree trunk, or made of small planks of wood assembled with dovetail joints that were held together by pins or nails.

Since wood was easy to work, the skilled craftsman could easily make thousands of useful and decorative items. Cooks in kitchens used wooden table articles such as sugar mills, butter churns, salt boxes, bread boxes, bowls, spoons and candlesticks.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Butter churn

Butter churn
1994.1069.1-4

Bread box

Bread box
1994.389

Salt box

Salt box
1994.433.1-2

Spoon

Spoon
1994.394

Butter spoon

Butter spoon
1994.1005

Butter stamp

Butter stamp
1994.999

Pail

Pail
1994.395

Dipper

Dipper
1994.382

Sugar mold

Sugar mold
1997.69

Pestle

Pestle
1994.413.3

Pepper shaker

Pepper shaker
After 1825
1994.218.1-2

Metal

Although metal was not a precious material, it was still an essential one in a society of pioneers and settlers. As soon as they arrived in North America, the settlers understood this and opened up shops to deal with the demand. Metal workers would use moulds to make a very large variety of common objects. Pots of all kinds, kettles, irons, and doors for bread ovens were no doubt among the most common. The craftsman used large pots of various sizes. Large iron pots with tripods and handles, with or without rims, much like those that the Amerindians made from terracotta, were used for operations such as making soap or maple syrup, dying wool or preparing fabric.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Plate

Plate
1994.489.4

Corker

Corker
1994.2142

Kettle

Kettle
1994.447

Caldron

Caldron
2000.11.1-2

Butter cutter

Butter cutter
1994.2166.1-3

Dinner bowl

Dinner bowl
1994.492.2

Perforated container

Perforated container
1994.3908

Fork

Fork
Early 20th century
1994.2538

Pickle fork

Pickle fork
Late 19th century
1994.2549.1

Fork

Fork
1994.2585.1

Vegetable chopper

Vegetable chopper
1994.899

Candy mold

Candy mold
1994.3248.1-2

Pitcher

Pitcher
1996.42.1

Crimper

Crimper
1994.3605

Measuring cup

Measuring cup
1994.2130

Ceramics

The French shared a need for survival with the Amerindians, who had to meet all of their own needs, as soon as they arrived in New France. The colonists, who had to produce everything they needed, took up a variety of crafts and, as a result, making ceramics became a necessary activity. Terrines, plates, jugs and pots appeared in kitchens in the 17th and 18th centuries.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Butter churn

Butter churn
18th century
1994.434.1-3

Bowl with spout

Bowl with spout
1994.415.2

Jug

Jug
1994.2194

Perforated container

Perforated container
1994.2016

Jar

Jar
1994.425.1-2

Mortar

Mortar
1994.304.1-2

Salt tub

Salt tub
1994.3208.1-2

Sauceboat

Sauceboat
1994.865.16

Soup tureen

Soup tureen
1994.507.9.1-3

Glass

It appears that, in the time of New France, the pioneers called on their mother country (France) to satisfy their need for glass items, although this material was not in much use in the 18th and 19th centuries. Our ancestors imported glass windows, but table items and decorative objects were made of terracotta that was produced locally or provided by traveling pewter makers and, exceptionally, by the tinsmith. Glass was not made in Quebec until the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Serving platter

Serving platter
1994.1737.1-2

Cooking thermometer

Cooking thermometer
1994.2147.1-3

Glass stemware

Glass stemware
Late 17th century
1994.91.1

Glass stemware

Glass stemware
Late 17th century
1994.91.2

Glass on foot

Glass on foot
Late 17th century
1994.92

Collections

Objets domestiques

Alimentation | Éclairage | Objets d'entretien | Chauffage

Alimentation

Bois | Métal | Céramique | Verre

La cuisine canadienne est particulièrement garnie en ustensiles des plus variés. Ceux d’étain sont les moins coûteux et les plus usuels. Buffet et garde-manger sont remplis de cuillers, d’assiettes, d’écuelles, de gobelets, de salières, de tasses, de gondoles et de divers plats, le tout en étain. Les ustensiles de fer-blanc figurent également en assez grand nombre chez le campagnard : des lèchefrites, des boudinières, des entonnoirs, des tourtières, des fromagers, des écumoires, des couloires, des huiliers, des gobelets et des boîtes à poivre.

Bois

Le bois reste le matériau que l’ancêtre québécois va le plus exploiter. Toutes les essences de la forêt québécoise (pin, épinette, érable, merisier, noyer) servent de matériaux de base à une grande variété d’articles de cuisine. Ces derniers sont soit creusés, tournés et sculptés dans le tronc d’arbre, soit faits de planchettes assemblées avec des joints en queue d’aronde, chevillées ou cloutées.

Le bois ayant la qualité de se travailler facilement, l’artisan habile sait en tirer mille et un objets d’utilité courante ou purement décoratifs. Dans les cuisines, l’artisane utilise des articles de table en bois fabriqués par l’artisan: moules à sucre, moules à beurre, boîtes à sel, boîtes à pain, bols et cuillères, chandeliers.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Baratte à beurre

Baratte à beurre
1994.1069.1-4

Boîte à pain

Boîte à pain
1994.389

Boîte à sel

Boîte à sel
1994.433.1-2

Cuillère

Cuillère
1994.394

Cuillère à beurre

Cuillère à beurre
1994.1005

Estampille à beurre

Estampille à beurre
1994.999

Jatte

Jatte
1994.395

Louche

Louche
1994.382

Moule à sucre

Moule à sucre
1997.69

Pilon

Pilon
1994.413.3

Poivrière

Poivrière
Après 1825
1994.218.1-2

Métal

Le métal non précieux reste un matériau d’importance primordiale dans une société de pionniers et de colonisateurs. Dès leur arrivée en sol d’Amérique, les habitants le comprennent et vont ouvrir des boutiques pour satisfaire la clientèle. Les artisans-fondeurs vont mouler une très grande quantité d’objets d’utilité courante. Marmites de tous genres, bouilloires, fers à repasser, portes de four à pain sont sans doute les plus communs. Les grosses marmites aux formats variables sont utilisées par l’artisane. La savon, le sirop d’érable, la teinture des lainages ou la préparation des tissus sont autant d’opérations qui se faisaient habituellement dans ces gros pots de fer à trépied et à anses, avec ou sans bordure, un peu comme ceux que les Amérindiens façonnaient en terre cuite.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Assiette

Assiette
1994.489.4

Bouchonneuse

Bouchonneuse
1994.2142

Bouilloire

Bouilloire
1994.447

Chaudron

Chaudron
2000.11.1-2

Coupe-beurre

Coupe-beurre
1994.2166.1-3

Écuelle à dîner

Écuelle à dîner
1994.492.2

Faisselle

Faisselle
1994.3908

Fourchette

Fourchette
Début 20e siècle
1994.2538

Fourchette
à marinades

Fourchette
à marinades
Fin 19e siècle
1994.2549.1

Fourchette

Fourchette
1994.2585.1

Hachoir à légumes

Hachoir à légumes
1994.899

Moule à bonbon

Moule à bonbon
1994.3248.1-2

Pichet

Pichet
1996.42.1

Sertisseur

Sertisseur
1994.3605

Tasse à mesurer

Tasse à mesurer
1994.2130

Céramique

Le besoin de survivance des Amérindiens, qui devaient se suffire à eux-mêmes, sera partagé par les Français dès leur arrivée en Nouvelle-France. Les colons, devant tout produire pour leurs besoins, vont s’adonner aux métiers les plus divers et, ainsi, la céramique entrera comme une nécessité dans leur champ d’action. Terrines, assiettes, cruches et pots, théières sont vite apparus dans les cuisines aux 17e et 18e siècles.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Baratte à beurre

Baratte à beurre
18e siècle
1994.434.1-3

Bol à bec verseur

Bol à bec verseur
1994.415.2

Cruche

Cruche
1994.2194

Faisselle

Faisselle
1994.2016

Jarre

Jarre
1994.425.1-2

Mortier

Mortier
1994.304.1-2

Saloir

Saloir
1994.3208.1-2

Saucière

Saucière
1994.865.16

Soupière

Soupière
1994.507.9.1-3

Verre

Le besoin de survivance des Amérindiens, qui devaient se suffire à eux-mêmes, sera partagé par les Français dès leur arrivée en Nouvelle-France. Les colons, devant tout produire pour leurs besoins, vont s’adonner aux métiers les plus divers et, ainsi, la céramique entrera comme une nécessité dans leur champ d’action. Terrines, assiettes, cruches et pots, théières sont vite apparus dans les cuisines aux 17e et 18e siècles.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Plat de service

Plat de service
1994.1737.1-2

Thermomètre
à cuisson

Thermomètre
à cuisson
1994.2147.1-3

Verre sur pied

Verre sur pied
Fin 17e siècle
1994.91.1

Verre sur pied

Verre sur pied
Fin 17e siècle
1994.91.2

Verre sur pied

Verre sur pied
Fin 17e siècle
1994.92