Collections

Domestic objects

Food | Lighting | Housekeeping objects | Heating

Lighting

Wax | Oil

The way in which our ancestors lived was controlled to a large extent by sunlight. Domestic chores started at sunrise and ended most often at sunset. As a result of the shortness of the days during the winter season, additional lighting was needed for certain in-door activities or simply for evening events.

Although people occasionally settled for using firelight, they more often preferred to use an oil lamp or a candle on candlestick or candleholder. Candlesnuffers and candlesnuffer holders were in considerable use during this period. Lanterns were used essentially for trips outside the home. Needless to say, these forms of lighting are now a thing of the past. Lighting is obviously the field in which technological progress has encouraged the most change.

Wax

While the lamp underwent a series of improvements, the candle remained in constant use. It was also the means of light used most commonly by the colonists since it was the least expensive. Our ancestors used sheep or cattle fat, which they would boil and then filter to remove any fibers. This resulted in an opaque, liquid white suet. They brought two methods of making candles with them from France: dipping, which was very common in past centuries, and molding, which was also used until the end of the 19th century.

Usually, the candle would be placed in the candlestick used for domestic purposes. The candlestick was considered a lighting device in most dwellings. In the oldest versions, the candle was stuck on a metal tip while those used in the middle of the 18th century were equipped with a type of saucer into which a stick of grease was placed. There were three categories of candle holders: candlesticks that were used for domestic purposes, candelabra and chandeliers. However, the candlestick was the most common. It was designed to hold a single candle.

No discussion of lighting would be complete without a reference to lanterns. The settlers used lanterns at night when they had to go to their stables. Later, night coaches (in the 19th century) and then bicycles (at the beginning of the 20th century) would be equipped with carbon steel lanterns that were very ornate and decorative.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Candle holder

Candle holder
1994.303

Candle holder

Candle holder
1994.577

Candle holder

Candle holder
1994.763

Candlestick

Candlestick
1994.522.1.1-2

Torch

Torch
1994.786.2

Lantern

Lantern
1994.436

Lantern

Lantern
1994.391

Candlesnuffer

Candlesnuffer
1994.628

Oil

Domestic lighting underwent very significant transformations starting in 1840. Although the candlestick and the whale oil lamp continued to be used in our homes, with certain improvements, needs changed and they were no longer adequate. Social life increased in intensity and the arrival of Anglo-Saxon immigrants, economic progress, and the growth of a local intellectual elite all had an impact on the new lifestyle.

The activities of people resulted in constant improvements in lighting techniques. They wanted to write, read and meet. The flickering of the candle and the poor light provided by the oil lamp were no longer satisfactory. People knew that new techniques existed in Europe and wanted to use them here.

Thus, from 1830 to 1860, until the coal oil lamp appeared, means of lighting underwent a vast number of changes resulting from local interventions and, above all, imports.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Betty lamp

Betty lamp
1994.463

Oil lamp

Oil lamp
1994.3292.1

Oil lamp

Oil lamp
After 1850
1994.187.1-4

Kerosene lamp

Kerosene lamp
1994.730.1-5

Kerosene lamp

Kerosene lamp
Late 19th century
1994.734.1-4

Collections

Objets domestiques

Alimentation | Éclairage | Objets d'entretien | Chauffage

Éclairage

Cire | Huile

La façon de vivre de nos ancêtres était en grande partie réglée par la lumière solaire. Les travaux domestiques commencent avec le lever du soleil et ne se terminent le plus souvent qu’avec le coucher du soleil. À cause de la brièveté des jours durant la saison hivernale, des éclairages d’appoint sont nécessaires pour la poursuite de certaines activités à l’intérieur de la maison ou tout simplement pour les veillées.

Si l’on se contente parfois de la simple lueur de l’âtre, on préfère le plus souvent la lampe à l’huile ou la chandelle déposée sur le chandelier, le bougeoir ou le martinet. Les mouchettes et leur porte-mouchettes se révèlent à cette époque d’utilité courante. La lanterne sert surtout pour les déplacements à l’extérieur de la maison. Il va sans dire que ces luminaires sont maintenant chose du passé. L’éclairage est certes le domaine dans lequel les progrès de la technologie ont le plus favorisé les changements.

Cire

Pendant que la lampe connaît toute une série d’améliorations, la chandelle demeure d’un usage constant; c’est également le mode d’éclairage le plus répandu parmi les colons, car il demeure le moins coûteux. Les ancêtres utilisent le gras de mouton ou de bœuf qu’ils font bouillir pour en éliminer les fibres par filtration; ils obtiennent alors un suif blanc liquide et opaque. Ils ont apporté de la France deux manières de produire la chandelle: le «sauçage», très employé aux siècles derniers, et le moulage, également utilisé jusqu’à la fin du 19e siècle.

Habituellement, la chandelle est déposée sur le chandelier utilisé pour les usages domestiques. Le bougeoir fait aussi partie des instruments d’éclairage de la majorité des habitations; les plus anciens reçoivent la chandelle dans une pointe en métal alors que ceux du milieu du 18e siècle auront un goulot permettant d’accepter le pied du bâton de gras. Les chandeliers se regroupent en trois catégories : les bougeoirs et chandeliers d’usage domestique, les chandeliers sur pied et les chandeliers de plafond. Cependant, les bougeoirs sont les plus communs. Ils sont conçus pour ne recevoir qu’une seule chandelle.

On ne peut parler d’éclairage sans parler de lanternes. L’habitant l’utilise la nuit pour se rendre à l’étable. Plus tard, au 19e siècle, les attelages de nuit ou, au début du 20e siècle, les bicyclettes seront munis de lanternes de métal au carbure, très travaillées et aussi très décoratives.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Bougeoir

Bougeoir
1994.303

Bougeoir

Bougeoir
1994.577

Bougeoir

Bougeoir
1994.763

Chandelier

Chandelier
1994.522.1.1-2

Flambeau

Flambeau
1994.786.2

Lanterne

Lanterne
1994.436

Lanterne

Lanterne
1994.391

Mouchettes

Mouchettes
1994.628

Huile

L’éclairage domestique va connaître des transformations très importantes à partir de 1840. Le chandelier et la lampe à l’huile de baleine vont persister dans nos demeures avec des améliorations mais leur efficacité ne correspond plus aux besoins nouveaux. La vie sociale connaît de plus en plus d’intensité et l’arrivée d’immigrants anglo-saxons, le progrès économique, la formation de plus en plus large d’une élite intellectuelle locale sont des aspects influençant le mode de vie nouveau.

Les activités des gens vont jouer en faveur d’une amélioration constante des procédés d’éclairage. On veut écrire, on veut lire, on veut se réunir. Le tremblotement de la flamme de chandelle ou la faiblesse de celle de la lampe à l’huile ne seront plus satisfaisants. On sait qu’il existe des techniques nouvelles en Europe et on tient à en faire usage au pays.

Ainsi, de 1830 à 1860, jusqu’à l’apparition de la lampe à l'huile de charbon, les moyens d’éclairage vont passer par une panoplie de mutations résultant d’interventions locales et surtout d’importations.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Lampe
bec-de-corbeau

Lampe
bec-de-corbeau
1994.463

Lampe à l’huile

Lampe à l’huile
1994.3292.1

Lampe à l’huile

Lampe à l’huile
Après 1850
1994.187.1-4

Lampe à kérosène

Lampe à
kérosène
1994.730.1-5

Lampe à kérosène

Lampe à
kérosène
Fin 19e siècle
1994.734.1-4