Collections

Tools and Equipment

Textile | Construction | Farm | Other trades

Other trades

Shoemaking | Tinsmithing | Barrel making

In the country, farmers and others often practised a secondary trade, manufacturing all sorts of items used on the farm and in the home, not only for their own use but also for their neighbours. This is the case of the barrel maker, the tinsmith and, occasionally, the cobbler.

Shoemaking

In the 17th century, when the French came to settle Quebec, they could not transplant the system that controlled French shoemaking. Although they came here to implant a replica of France on North American soil, they were forced to adapt in numerous ways. Driven by the forces of the environment and confronted with a new geographic reality, they had to adapt to an unknown climate, soil, fauna and flora. Cut off from urban resources during the cold of winter and driven by the vital need to survive, these French settlers demonstrated imagination and, while developing their creativity, they also borrowed knowledge from another culture, namely that of the Amerindians, who knew how to defend themselves against the harsh winters.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Shoe tree

Shoe tree
1994.890

Piece of leather

Piece of leather
2005.77

Cobbler’s bench
and shoe tree

Cobbler’s bench and shoe tree
1994.886

Tinsmithing

As of the 17th century, Quebec was home to numerous metal workers, each having his own speciality. They included tool makers, locksmiths and tinsmiths.

The tinsmith manufactured a large number of tin objects that were of use both in the home and on the farm: pots, basins, shovels, candle brackets, and oil lamps. Over the centuries, the tinsmith established his business in a village and his shop would contain objects of all sizes and shapes. Over time, the shiny, light and relatively inexpensive tin objects replaced articles made of pewter, wood and pottery.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Perforated container

Perforated container
1994.3906

Weather vane

Weather vane
After 1850
1994.1584.1-2

Candle mould

Candle mould
1994.915.1

Punch mould

Punch mould
2001.134

Candy mould

Candy mould
1994.3339.1-4

Barrel making

When the French arrived in New France, they needed a large variety of tradesmen. The colonists brought in people who specialized in numerous fields. Barrel makers played an essential role. Not only was their trade essential to everyday life, but it also played a direct role in the country’s industry and trade. What was the point in developing the fishing industry if there were no barrels to carry the fish? Why encourage farmers to increase their wheat harvest if there was nothing in which to export it? As a result, barrel makers who were rare in the 17th century, saw their numbers grow significantly in the 18th century with the growth of the economy, finally reaching a plateau at the peak of Quebec’s commercial development in the 19th century.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Two-pronged tongs

Two-pronged tongs
Late 20th century
1997.88.17

Cooper’s tool

Cooper’s tool
Late 20th century
1997.88.4

Barrel hoop

Barrel hoop
Late 20th century
1997.88.15.1-2

Punch shears

Punch shears
Late 20th century
1997.88.18

Alan key

Alan key
Late 20th century
1997.88.6

Drawknife

Drawknife
Late 20th century
1997.88.11

Round gouge

Round gouge
Late 20th century
1997.88.13

Bung adze

Bung adze
Late 20th century
1997.88.21

Barrel pry bar

Barrel pry bar
Late 20th century
1997.88.14

Cooper’s hammer

Cooper’s hammer
Late 20th century
1997.88.20

Cooper’s plane

Cooper’s plane
Late 20th century
1997.88.2

Cooper’s auger

Cooper’s auger
Late 20th century
1997.88.16

Plane

Plane
Late 20th century
1997.88.12

Draw gauge

Draw gauge
Late 20th century
1997.88.5

Cooper’s brace

Cooper’s brace
Late 20th century
1997.88.8

Cooper’s brace

Cooper’s brace
Late 20th century
1997.88.9

Collections

Outils et équipement

Textile | Construction | Ferme | Autres métiers

Autres métiers

Cordonnerie | Ferblanterie | Tonnellerie

À la campagne, cultivateurs et autres exercent souvent le métier comme occupation secondaire, en fabriquant toutes sortes de récipients destinés à la ferme et à la maison, non seulement pour leur propre usage, mais aussi pour leurs voisins. C’est le cas du tonnelier, du ferblantier et parfois du cordonnier.

Cordonnerie

Au 17e siècle, en venant s’établir à Québec, les Français ne peuvent pas transplanter le système régissant la cordonnerie française. Venus implanter une réplique de la France en terre d’Amérique, ils se voient forcer à de nombreuses adaptations. Poussés par les forces de l’environnement, confrontés à une nouvelle réalité géographique, ils doivent s’adapter à un climat, à des sols, à une faune et à une flore inconnus. Coupés des ressources de la métropole par les froids hivernaux et emportés par leurs besoins vitaux de survie, ces Français font preuve d’imagination et, tout en étant imaginatifs, ils empruntent aussi des connaissances à une autre culture, celle des Amérindiens qui savent comment se défendre contre les rigueurs de l’hiver.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Forme de soulier

Forme de soulier
1994.890

Morceau de cuir

Morceau de cuir
2005.77

Banc du cordonnier
et moule à souliers

Banc du cordonnier
et moule à souliers
1994.886

Ferblanterie

Dès le 17e siècle, le Québec compte de nombreux artisans de métal ayant chacun leur spécialité. On les appelle « taillandiers » lorsqu’ils fabriquent les outils ou encore serruriers ou ferblantiers, selon le cas.

Le ferblantier fabrique une grande variété d’objets en fer blanc utiles pour la maison et la ferme: seaux, cuvettes, pelles à main, bougeoirs muraux, lampes à l’huile. Au cours des siècles, le ferblantier établit son commerce dans le village et on trouvait dans sa boutique des contenants de toutes grosseurs et de toutes formes. Avec le temps, les articles en fer blanc brillants, légers et relativement peu coûteux sont devenus une solution de remplacement pour les articles en étain, en bois et en terre cuite.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Faisselle

Faisselle
1994.3906

Girouette

Girouette
après 1850
1994.1584.1-2

Moule à chandelle

Moule à chandelle
1994.915.1

Moule emporte-pièce

Moule emporte-pièce
2001.134

Moule à bonbon

Moule à bonbon
1994.3339.1-4

Tonnellerie

Dès l’arrivée des Français en Nouvelle-France, la présence d’artisans ayant différents métiers est indispensable. Les colonisateurs emmènent une main-d’œuvre spécialisée dans de nombreux domaines. Les tonneliers ont un rôle essentiel à jouer, non seulement leur métier est-il nécessaire à la vie de tous les jours mais il est directement lié à l’industrie et au commerce du pays. À quoi bon développer l’industrie de la pêche si on ne peut pas embariller le poisson? Pourquoi encourager les agriculteurs à augmenter leur récolte de blé si, faute de quarts, on ne peut pas l’exporter? C’est ainsi que les tonneliers, en petit nombre au 17e siècle, voient leur rang augmenter très sensiblement au 18e siècle avec la croissance de l’économie, pour enfin plafonner à l’apogée du développement commercial du Québec au 19e siècle.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Bident de tonneau

Bident de tonneau
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.17

Binette de tonneau

Binette de tonneau
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.4

Chassoir de tonneau

Chassoir de tonneau
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.15.1-2

Ciseau à poinçon

Ciseau à poinçon
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.18

Clef hexagonale

Clef hexagonale
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.6

Curette de tonneau

Curette de tonneau
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.11

Gouge ronde

Gouge ronde
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.13

Herminette à 
débonder

Herminette à
débonder
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.21

Levier de tonneau

Levier de tonneau
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.14

Marteau à chapeler

Marteau à chapeler
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.20

Plane de tonneau

Plane de tonneau
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.2

Pointeau de tonneau

Pointeau de tonneau
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.16

Rabot à racler

Rabot à racler
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.12

Trusquin à traçage
de lignes

Trusquin à traçage
de lignes
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.5

Vilebrequin de 
tonneau

Vilebrequin de
tonneau
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.8

Vilebrequin de 
tonneau

Vilebrequin
de tonneau
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.9