Collections

Tools and Equipment

Textile | Construction | Farm | Other trades

Construction

Carpentry-Cabinet making | Masonry | Blacksmith and locksmithe

When the first tradesmen came here from France, they brought not only their trades but also traditions and customs that they maintained and adapted. As in the case of the old trades and trade associations, they joined together in brotherhoods, each of which had their own patron saint. During the course of history, woodworking has been divided into a large number of specialized trades, from carpentry to cabinet making, and included the art of barrel maker, the cartwright, or the chair maker to mention just a few.

Carpentry-Cabinet making

Along with their tools and skills, the first carpenters to set up shop in New France also brought trades that had been fully developed and enjoyed a very lengthy history. In the Middle Ages, the word “charpentier” (carpenter) in French was often used to refer to anyone who worked with wood, which gave rise to expressions such as “charpentier de tonneaux” (barrel maker), the “charpentier de huches” (wood carver), etc. A tradesman who took part in work requiring large pieces of wood was referred as “charpentier de grande cognée” (timbermen, but literally “large axe carpenters”) since the axe he used to square tree trunks was called a “cognée” in French. At the same time, those who worked with small pieces of wood were referred to as “charpentiers de la petite cognée” (literally “small axe carpenters”).

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Planing bench

Planing bench
Late 20th century
1997.90

Nail barrel

Nail barrel
1994.3604.2

Wood hook

Wood hook
After 1850
1994.3387

Bell spike

Bell spike
1994.310

Bung adze

Bung adze
Late 20th century
1997.88.19

Two-headed hammer

Two-headed hammer
1994.1405

Plane

Plane
1997.81.1-3

Marking gauge

Marking gauge
1994.2477.1-3

Masonry

Since brick and stone were very popular with builders in days gone by, who took their inspiration from a strong European tradition, mortar was an essential element in the construction of masonry structures. In the past, mortar was nothing more than lime which had been mixed with sand. The lime-burner was an important tradesman in traditional society.

Master masons were masters of their art, stacking stones very carefully and looking for the most appropriate surface for joining each stone to the next. Mortar was used to fill in the caps and joints in order to “close the pores”.

And, it should be noted, mortar is quick or “alive”, which may explain is resistance to time and wear.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Flinting pick

Flinting pick
19th century
2000.3

Claw chisel

Claw chisel
19th century
2000.5

Punch

Punch
19th century
2000.6

Shears

Shears
19th century
2000.7

Blacksmith and locksmith

A large number of forged items were needed to erect a house and the accessory buildings. Some were clearly obvious and played a role that was both practical and decorative. Others, which were hidden, were just as important and served a specific purpose in making a structure solid.

But, the art of the blacksmith acquired a certain degree of refinement when it came to the various components of locks and in all of the ironwork that was used, during the early period, to decorate interior and exterior doors, window sashes and doors of cupboards that were built into walls. Buttons, pendants, rings, locks, pins, hinges and bolts still demonstrate the great skills of our blacksmiths/locksmiths today.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Key

Key
1994.311.4

Key

Key
1994.313.1

Key

Key
After 1850
1994.2212.1

Bowl mould

Bowl mould
1994.879.1-2

Moule à assiette

Moule à assiette
1994.880

Communion wafer mould (detail)

Communion wafer mould (detail)
1994.881

Communion wafer mould

Communion wafer mould
1994.882

Lock

Lock
1994.313.2

Collections

Outils et équipement

Textile | Construction | Ferme | Autres métiers

Construction

Charpenterie-ébénisterie | Maçonnerie | Forge et serrurerie

Les premiers artisans ont apporté de France non seulement un métier mais des traditions et des coutumes qu’ils ont conservées et adaptées. Comme corps de métier et comme corporations anciennes, ils se sont unis en confréries ayant chacune leur saint patron. Au cours de l’histoire, le travail du bois s’est subdivisé en une foule de métiers spécialisés, allant de la charpenterie à l’ébénisterie, en passant par l’art du tonnelier, du charron, du chaisier ou du tourneur de bois, pour n’en mentionner que quelques-uns.

Charpenterie-ébénisterie

Les premiers menuisiers et charpentiers à s’établir en Nouvelle-France apportent, avec leurs outils et leur savoir-faire, des métiers déjà parfaitement constitués, dont l’histoire remonte très loin dans le temps. Au Moyen-Âge, le mot charpentier sert très souvent à désigner tous les artisans du bois. On a ainsi le «charpentier de tonneaux», le «charpentier de huches», etc. Les artisans qui exécutent les ouvrages exigeant des pièces de bois de fortes dimensions sont appelés «charpentier de grande cognée», à cause de la cognée, une hache servant à équarrir les troncs d’arbres. Par contre, ceux qui, comme le huchier, utilisent des pièces de petites dimensions sont appelés «charpentiers de la petite cognée».

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Banc à planer

Banc à planer
fin du 20e siècle
1997.90

Baril à clous

Baril à clous
1994.3604.2

Crochet à bois

Crochet à bois
après 1850
1994.3387

Fiche de clocher

Fiche de clocher
1994.310

Herminette à
débonder

Herminette à
débonder
fin du 20e siècle
1997.88.19

Marteau à deux têtes

Marteau à deux têtes
1994.1405

Rabot

Rabot
1997.81.1-3

Trusquin

Trusquin
1994.2477.1-3

Maçonnerie

Comme la brique et la pierre connaissent une grande popularité auprès des constructeurs d’antan qui s’inspirent alors d’une forte tradition européenne, le mortier constitue donc un élément essentiel dans la réalisation de ces ouvrages de maçonnerie. Le mortier ancien n’est autre chose que de la chaux détrempée avec du sable. Le chaufournier reste un artisan important dans la société traditionnelle.

Les maîtres-maçons maîtrisent leur art; la pierre est soigneusement empilée à tel point qu’on cherche sa facette la plus commode pour la marier à une autre. Le mortier vient emplir les cavités et sert à tirer les joints «à fermer les pores».

Et, fait à noter, le vieux mortier «vit». C’est peut-être d’ailleurs ce qui explique sa résistance au temps et à l’usure.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Picot

Picot
19e siècle
2000.3

Gradine

Gradine
19e siècle
2000.5

Poinçon

Poinçon
19e siècle
2000.6

Ciseau

Ciseau
19e siècle
2000.7

Forge et serrurerie

Une grande quantité d’articles de main de forge sont nécessaires à l’érection de la maison et des dépendances. Certains sont bien apparents et jouissent d’une fonction à la fois pratique et décorative; d’autres, cachés, sont tous aussi importants et ont une fin spécifique dans la solidification des structures.

Mais où l’art du forgeron atteint un certain raffinement, c’est bien dans les différentes pièces de serrurerie et dans toutes ces ferrures qui vont, au cours de la période artisanale, orner les portes d’intérieur et d’extérieur, les châssis à doubles vantaux et les portes d’armoires encastrées dans la muraille. Boutons, pendants, anneaux, poignées, entrées de serrure, fiches, pentures, verrous, targettes, témoignent encore aujourd’hui de la grande habileté de nos forgerons-serruriers.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Clef

Clef
1994.311.4

Clef

Clef
1994.313.1

Clef de sous châsse

Clef de sous châsse
après 1850
1994.2212.1

Moule à écuelle

Moule à écuelle
1994.879.1-2

Moule à assiette

Moule à assiette
1994.880

Moule à hosties

Moule à hosties (détail)
1994.881

Moule à hosties

Moule à hosties
1994.882

Serrure

Serrure
1994.313.2