Collections

Tools and Equipment

Textile | Construction | Farm | Other trades

Farm

Agriculture | Animal husbandry

When the need arose, the settler did work that was not part of his function as a farmer. For example, settlers had to build and repair their houses and buildings, manufacture their tilling tools and maintain their carts and harnesses. As a result, settlers practised all the trades: carpenter, blacksmith and cartwright. Settlers farmed their land and had to have the tools required to clear the land, plough it, harrow their fields, sow the seeds and, of course, harvest the fruits of their labour. Since they also raised livestock, farm tools and instruments were also needed. Men and women alike had to be inventive. Fortunately, they were skilled in this respect since they succeeded at all of the trades without training.

Agriculture

People living in the country had to be good at all trades. When a farmer took over a piece of land, he made a commitment to “plough, till and sow the appropriate seeds at suitable times and seasons”. He had to be inventive when it came to manufacturing the instruments and tools needed to work his fields. Hocquart said that “the settlers make most of the tools and utensils needed to plough and work their fields on their own...” It comes as no surprise that he has most of the tools used during that time.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Watering can

Watering can
1994.3747

Flour barrel

Flour barrel
1994.1413.1-2

Wheel barrow

Wheel barrow
1994.1410

Flax knife

Flax knife
1994.2476

Grass hook

Grass hook
1996.97

Tobacco knife

Tobacco knife
1998.22

Flax comb

Flax comb
1994.925

Measuring scoop

Measuring scoop
1994.912.1

Rake

Rake
Late 19th century
1994.3388

Animal husbandry

As soon as the settlers arrived in New France, animal husbandry was very important for their survival. Each settler had his own farm animals, including cows, horses, sheep and pigs. Several even had a chicken run. As a result, the settlers needed tools or instruments to do their work. Tools such as butter churns, skimmers, kettles and shears were found on all farms.

Click on an image to enlarge it and access the collection slideshow.

Poultry watering bowl

Poultry watering bowl
1994.989.1

Milk can

Milk can
1994.3730.1-2

Egg box

Egg box
1994.901.1-9

Horse collar

Horse collar
1994.1255

Milk strainer

Milk strainer
1994.3726

Egg scale

Egg scale
1994.2190

Collections

Outils et équipement

Textile | Construction | Ferme | Autres métiers

Ferme

Culture | Élevage

Sous le coup de la nécessité, l’habitant accomplit des travaux qui ne relèvent pas de son rôle d’agriculteur. Il doit, par exemple, construire et réparer sa maison et ses bâtiments, fabriquer ses instruments aratoires, ainsi que veiller au bon entretien de ses voitures et de ses harnais. Il exerce ainsi tous les métiers: menuisier, charpentier, forgeron et charron. Le terrien cultive sa terre d’où la nécessité pour lui d’avoir tous les outils pour le défrichage, le labourage, le hersage et l’ensemencement et, bien sûr, les récoltes. Comme il devient aussi éleveur de troupeaux, les instruments et outils de ferme sont également obligatoires. L’artisan comme l’artisane doivent s’en remettre à leur débrouillardise. Heureusement qu’ils n’en manquent pas car ils réussissent dans tous les métiers sans en avoir fait l’apprentissage.

Culture

À la campagne, il faut être de tous les métiers. Lorsqu’un fermier prend une terre, il s’engage à «labourer, cultiver et ensemencer de bons grains en temps et saisons convenables». Ce dernier doit s’ingénier à fabriquer les instruments ou les outils nécessaires pour la culture de ses champs. Hocquart mentionne que «les habitants font eux-mêmes la plupart des outils et des ustensiles de labour et pour leurs champs...». Rien d’étonnant que l’on trouve chez lui la plupart des outils en usage à l’époque.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Arrosoir à fleurs

Arrosoir à fleurs
1994.3747

Baril à farine

Baril à farine
1994.1413.1-2

Brouette à ridelle

Brouette à ridelle
1994.1410

Écochoir à lin

Écochoir à lin
1994.2476

Faucille

Faucille
1996.97

Hachoir à tabac

Hachoir à tabac
1998.22

Peigne à lin

Peigne à lin
1994.925

Pelle à mesurer

Pelle à mesurer
1994.912.1

Râteau à feuilles

Râteau à feuilles
fin du 19e siècle
1994.3388

Élevage

Dès l’arrivée en Nouvelle-France, l’élevage est très important pour la survie. Chaque habitant a ses propres animaux de ferme, tels les vaches, les chevaux, les moutons et les cochons. Plusieurs ont même une basse-cour. Il a donc besoin d’outils ou d’instruments pour accomplir son travail. Nous retrouvons donc sur toutes les fermes: baratte à beurre, écumoire, chaudière et forces.

Cliquez sur une image pour l'agrandir et pour accéder au diaporama de la collection.

Abreuvoir à volaille

Abreuvoir à volaille
1994.989.1

Bidon à lait

Bidon à lait
1994.3730.1-2

Boîte à oeufs

Boîte à oeufs
1994.901.1-9

Collier à cheval

Collier à cheval
1994.1255

Couloir à lait

Couloir à lait
1994.3726

Pèse-oeuf

Pèse-oeuf
1994.2190