Chronicles

Quebec Swear Words over the Years

Quebec Swear Words over the Years

Illustration de E.-J. Massicotte
(Le Monde illustré, 31 décembre 1898)
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec 2002-2006, collection numérique

Much like accents, swear words are excellent indicators of people’s roots. The swear words used by the French, for example, are very different than those used by Quebecers. In Quebec, religious vocabulary has had an undeniable effect on swear words – to such an extent, in fact, that swearing and blaspheming are synonymous.

This new series of chronicles takes you into an explosive field of Quebec language. Discover these words which were condemned and repressed and once made people shiver and yet are still used today to express the strongest of emotions.

Click on a title to access an episode or to close the tab.

First episode
Swearing in Keeping with the times
Swearing in Keeping with the times

Illustration de E.-J. Massicotte
(Le Monde illustré, 27 novembre 1897)
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec 2002-2006, collection numérique

In any society, there are certain prohibitions. Everyone recognizes them and tries to respect them. The fact that swear words transgress these prohibitions gives them their strength. Studying the evolution of swear words in a society can reveal a great deal about the characteristics of that society at different times during its history.

The first swear words used in New France, for which we have found only very few traces, are similar to those used by the French during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. They focussed primarily on God.

Either people wore by God (Par Dieu) or by His body, referring to His Head, stomach, wounds or blood or God was reviled: “Je renie Dieu, je vaincs Dieu, je fais du tort à Dieu” ( I renounce God, I defeat God, I do harm to God). According to the legal archives, in 1717, a settler living near Trois-Rivières swore and blasphemed against the Holy Name of God in public [...] saying “sacredieu, mortdieu, ventre Dieu, [...] je renie Dieu, et je renie carême et baptesme et ne veut de mes jours aller à confesse [...]” (Holy God, death of God, stomach of God [...] I renounce God, Lent and baptism and will never go to confession [...]).

At the start of the 19th century, the words Dieu (God), nom de Dieu (name of God) and baptême (baptism) continued to be used, often accompanied by maudit (damn) or sacré (holy). Nevertheless, fewer trials were held concerning such swear words. It appears that these swear words had become widespread or people found them less offensive at a time when the Canadian church, which had become weak, was unable to provide a structure for parishioners.

The situation changed after the rebellions of 1837-1838. The clergy, which had become the defenders of the nation, took charge of several institutions. Partly as a result of better recruiting, the Church assumed more control over the faithful, promoting greater compliance with practices. As of 1`850, new swear words appeared in Quebec, marked by religion. These included Christ (Christ) Vierge (Virgin) and saint (saint). They were followed by ciboire (ciborium), calvaire (calvary) tabernacle (tabernacle) calice (chalice). These swear words became widespread during the years from 1870 to 1880. The swear words used here make Quebec stand out from France, where the church was more discrete and swear words turned to another taboo subject – sexuality.

Quebecers who wanted to swear were familiar with the liturgical vocabulary, which had been instilled in them through education. The prohibition about touching certain objects involved in worship increased the taboo, making the transgression even more powerful. The development of swear words with a religious connotation might indicate a rejection, whether conscious or unconscious, of Roman Catholicism, as it was imposed, since transgressing prohibitions is easier in words than actions. The word hostie (host) used as a swear word appeared in about 1920 along with an increase in the practice of communion. Although the faithful had only taken communion once a year prior to this, at this time they started to take part more frequently, occasionally on a weekly basis.

During the Quiet Revolution, prohibitions concerning the sacred were relaxed, removing a great deal of the force from religious swear words. Sacred swear words became widespread and common. Finally, it should also be noted that in addition to religious swear words, and at all times during Quebec’s history, vulgar words were also used here: trou de cul (asshole), putain (whore), chien (curr) merde (shit) etc.

At certain times, blaspheming against God was a serious offence. People feared divine retribution, which could, for example, take the form of famines or epidemics. To learn more about how swear words were perceived during various periods and the means taken to eradicate this scourge, we invite you to return on October 17, 2006.

Sources
  • HARDY, René. «Ce que sacrer veut dire: à l’origine du juron religieux au Québec», dans Jean Delumeau, et autres, Injures et blasphèmes, Paris, Imago, 1989, pp. 99-125.
  • VINCENT, Diane. «Le sacre au Québec: transgression d'un ordre religieux ou social?», dans Le statut culturel du français au Québec: actes du congrès langue et société au Québec, publié sur Internet à l’adresse suivante: http://www.cslf.gouv.qc.ca/publications/PubF112/F112A8.html

Second episode
Swearing: Scandalous or Commonplace?
Un juron, scandaleux ou banal?

Illustration de E.-J. Massicotte
(Le Monde illustré, 31 décembre 1898)
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec 2002-2006, collection numérique

What do you think about sending people to prison for using bad language? This situation, which is unthinkable today, was quite possible in the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries. In the 18th century, 16% of the accused brought before the royal court were charged with verbal violence and insults. People attacked the honor of others, calling men fripons (knaves), chiens (curs) and coquins (devils) and referring to woman as gueuses (wenches) and putains (whores). When such insults concerned God (blasphemy) or the king, they were considered lese majesty crimes.

What do you think about sending people to prison for using bad language? This situation, which is unthinkable today, was quite possible in the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries. In the 18th century, 16% of the accused brought before the royal court were charged with verbal violence and insults. People attacked the honor of others, calling men fripons (knaves), chiens (curs) and coquins (devils) and referring to woman as gueuses (wenches) and putains (whores). When such insults concerned God (blasphemy) or the king, they were considered lese majesty crimes.

The 1617 blasphemy act provided for a fine for the first offence, a fine and a prison term for the two subsequent offenses, and harsher punishment (often corporal) for the fourth offence. In France, men were even condemned to death for having blasphemed. Blasphemy was frightening since, like witchcraft, it attracted God’s wrath. In the 17th century, in New France, fourteen people were sentenced by the courts for blasphemy. Nevertheless, as of the 18th century, courts in the colony were less inclined to punish blasphemers. Often, they were only sentenced when they were also charged with other crimes.

In the middle of the 19th century, the Church, which was scandalized by the increasingly frequent use of liturgical vocabulary as swear words, took over from the court when it came to judging people who used such language. From 1849 to 1951, there were almost 40 references to blasphemy in the bishops’ orders. Considered a capital sin for Canadians, blasphemy was denounced in sermons, announcements and novenas. The priests condemned blasphemy in the same manner as undisciplined behavior before mass, drunkenness or indecency. Moreover, they increasingly focused on the vulgar nature of the swearing rather than its blasphemous character.

With the deconfessionalization of institutions and the decline in the Church’s influence during the Quiet Revolution, swearing became widespread and common place. In academic circles, the popular language of Quebec is studied for what it is and swear words are considered one of its characteristics. Swear words have even made their way into literature, as in the case of the play Les Belles-Soeurs by Michel Tremblay and the novel Salut Galarneau! by Jacques Godbout. They are also found in songs, movies, television shows and place names. At certain points in time, swear words have been the trade mark of several union leaders and elected officials. Despite this new-found “glory”, swear words are still considered vulgar and several continue to condemn their use, particularly in educational circles.

Like their French ancestors, Quebecers have long found means to bypass the prohibitions concerning swear words. To learn more about the creativity demonstrated by Quebecers to sweat without really swearing, we invite you to come back on October 31, 2006.

Sources
  • HARDY, René. «Ce que sacrer veut dire: à l’origine du juron religieux au Québec», dans Jean Delumeau et autres, Injures et blasphèmes, Paris, Imago, 1989, pp. 99-125.
  • LACHANCE, André. Crimes et criminels en Nouvelle-France. Montréal, Boréal express, 1984, 184 p.
  • PICHETTE, Jean-Pierre. Le guide raisonné des jurons: langue, littérature, histoire et dictionnaire des jurons, Montréal, Quinze éditeur, 1980, 305 p.

Third episode
Swearing Without Really Swearing

In an effort to avoid reprimands, social disapproval or divine anger, Quebecers quickly learned to swear without actually saying sacrilegious words, as their ancestors did in France. They demonstrated a great deal of creativity in this respect. In Quebec, there are more than 2,000 swear words. Of that number, almost half exist simply to “soften” about 20 or so swear words, which are considered heavy with consequences.

There are several ways in which to get around using a swear word. For example, certain letters or syllables can be removed and replaced with others in order to create a new word. It is also possible to switch the order of letters and syllables. People who do this take care to retain enough similarities with the original word so that there is no doubt as to the source of a new swear word. It is also possible to replace the sacrilegious word with one or more completely neutral words that sound the same. Here are a few examples of these replacement swear words.

Original swear word Altered swear word Swear word chosen for its resemblance
Baptême (Baptism) Batinse
Basouelle
Bateau
Bon Dieu (Good God) Bondance Bombarde
Calice (Calice) Câlasse
Câline
Alice
Calvaire (Calvary) Caltor Joual-vert
Christ Criffe Crime
Ciboire (Ciborium) Archibouère Six boîtes
Corps de Dieu (Body of God) Corbleu Bout de corde
Hostie (Host) Hostifie
Titi (en)
Asphalte
Esprit
Je renie Dieu (I renounce God) Jarnidieu  
Maudit (Damn) Mausus
Saudit
Soda
Mardi
Mort Dieu (Death of God) Morbleu Morue
Tabernacle (Tabernacle) Batarnac
Tabarnique
Tableau
Ta boîte
Vierge (Virgin) Fiarge Cierge

In addition to replacing swear words, there are other options available for people who want to swear without offending God. If they need a strong swear word that transgresses the prohibitions, they can choose to violate the rules of decency with a vulgar profanity such as bordel (brothel) putain (whore) or merde (shit), they can also adopt an inoffensive term such as ambulance (ambulance) or rhubarbe (rhubarb) or they may prefer to use a religious word that has no harmful connotation. In this way, expressions such as doux Jésus (sweet Jesus), bon Dieu de la vie (Good God of life) and pour l’amour du ciel (for heaven’s sake) appear to be divine invocations.

In discourse, replacement swear words and so-called “pure” swear words are used in a rich and varied manner. Some people who swear choose to combine strings of swear words such as sacré maudit calice de saint-ciboire. Others assign them different roles in the sentence. In this way the swear word Christ can be used as an interjection “mon petit crisse”, as a verb “crisse ton camp” and as an adjective “une façon crisse de travailler”.

This is the last in the series of chronicles on Quebec Swear Words over the Years.

Source
  • PICHETTE, Jean-Pierre. Le guide raisonné des jurons: langue, littérature, histoire et dictionnaire des jurons, Montréal, Quinze éditeur, 1980, 305 p.

Back 

Swear words in Quebec place names
Near Saint-Étienne-des-Grès, there is a spot in the Saint-Maurice River where boats have trouble getting through and where exhausted rowers swear considerably. The point located there, the target of much swearing is called “Pointe aux Baptêmes”.

Chroniques

Le juron québécois à travers les âges

Le juron québécois à travers les âges

Illustration de E.-J. Massicotte
(Le Monde illustré, 31 décembre 1898)
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec 2002-2006, collection numérique

Tout comme l’accent, les jurons sont d’excellents indices pour identifier la provenance des personnes. Les jurons des Français sont, par exemple, bien différents des jurons des Québécois.

Au Québec, l’influence du vocabulaire religieux sur les jurons est indéniable, à un point tel que juron, sacre et blasphème sont synonymes.

Cette nouvelle série de chroniques vous amène dans un domaine explosif du parler québécois. Découvrez ces mots, condamnés et réprimés, qui jadis en ont fait frémir plus d’un et qui, souvent encore aujourd’hui, servent à exprimer les émotions les plus vives.

Cliquez sur un titre pour accéder à un épisode ou pour fermer l'onglet.

Premier épisode
Jurer selon la mode de son temps
Les saints et les saintes courent les rues...

Illustration de E.-J. Massicotte
(Le Monde illustré, 27 novembre 1897)
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec 2002-2006, collection numérique

Dans toute société, il y a des interdits. Ils sont reconnus par tous et tous s’efforcent de les respecter. Les jurons les transgressent, c’est ce qui leur donne leur force. Étudier l’évolution des jurons dans une société peut ainsi être très révélateur de ce qui caractérise cette société, à différents moments de son histoire.

Les premiers jurons de la Nouvelle-France, dont nous n’avons que peu de traces, sont similaires à ceux employés par les Français depuis le Moyen Âge et la Renaissance. Ils tournent principalement autour de la figure de Dieu.

Soit on jure par lui (Par Dieu) ou par son corps, en évoquant sa tête, son ventre, ses plaies ou son sang, soit on l’injurie en affirmant: «Je renie Dieu, je vaincs Dieu, je fais du tort à Dieu». Dans les archives judiciaires, il est ainsi attesté qu’en 1717 un habitant des environs de Trois-Rivières a «juré et blasphémé le Saint Nom de Dieu en pleine place publique [...] disant sacredieu, mortdieu, ventre Dieu, [...] je renie Dieu, et je renie carême et baptesme et ne veut de mes jours aller à confesse [...]».

Au début du 19e siècle, les mots Dieu, nom de Dieu et baptême continuent d’être utilisés, souvent accompagnés de maudit ou de sacré. Ils sont toutefois moins souvent l’objet de procès. Vraisemblablement, ces jurons se sont répandus et on s’en offusque moins, à un moment où l’Église canadienne, en position de faiblesse, parvient moins bien à encadrer les paroissiens.

La situation change après les rébellions de 1837-1838. Le clergé, devenu le défenseur de la nation, prend en charge plusieurs institutions. Grâce entre autres à un meilleur recrutement, l’Église encadre mieux les fidèles, favorisant plus de conformisme dans les pratiques. À partir de 1850, de nouveaux jurons apparaissent au Québec, marqués par la religion. Il s’agit de Christ, Vierge et saint, puis de ciboire, calvaire, tabernacle, calice. Ces sacres se répandent au cours des années 1870 et 1880. Par ses jurons, le Québec se distingue de la France, où l’Église est plus discrète et où les jurons se tournent davantage vers un autre sujet tabou, la sexualité.

Pour le jureur québécois, le vocabulaire liturgique est familier, inculqué par l’éducation. L’interdiction de toucher certains objets du culte, en augmentant le tabou, rend la transgression encore plus puissante. Le développement du juron à connotation religieuse pourrait indiquer un rejet, conscient ou inconscient, de ce catholicisme imposé, la transgression en paroles étant plus facile que la transgression en gestes. Le juron hostie apparaît tardivement, vers 1920. Son arrivée coïncide avec une augmentation dans la pratique de la communion. Alors qu’auparavant, les fidèles ne communiaient qu’une fois par année, ils commencent à le faire plus fréquemment, parfois de façon hebdomadaire.

Lors de la Révolution tranquille, l’interdit entourant le sacre s’estompe, lui enlevant beaucoup de sa force. Le sacre se répand alors et se banalise. Il convient finalement de souligner qu’en plus des jurons religieux, et à toutes les époques, le Québec connaît son lot de grossièretés comme trou de cul, putain, chien, merde, etc.

À certaines époques, le blasphème envers Dieu est une offense grave. On craint les représailles divines qui pourraient, par exemple, prendre la forme de famines ou d’épidémies. Pour en savoir plus sur la perception des jurons à différentes époques et sur les moyens adoptés pour endiguer ce fléau, nous vous donnons rendez-vous le 17 octobre 2006.

Sources
  • HARDY, René. «Ce que sacrer veut dire: à l’origine du juron religieux au Québec», dans Jean Delumeau, et autres, Injures et blasphèmes, Paris, Imago, 1989, pp. 99-125.
  • VINCENT, Diane. «Le sacre au Québec: transgression d'un ordre religieux ou social?», dans Le statut culturel du français au Québec: actes du congrès langue et société au Québec, publié sur Internet à l’adresse suivante: http://www.cslf.gouv.qc.ca/publications/PubF112/F112A8.html

Deuxième épisode
Un juron, scandaleux ou banal?
Un juron, scandaleux ou banal?

Illustration de E.-J. Massicotte
(Le Monde illustré, 31 décembre 1898)
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec 2002-2006, collection numérique

Aller en prison pour avoir dit un «gros mot»? Cette situation aujourd’hui inconcevable est pourtant possible aux 17e, 18e et 19e siècles. Au 18e siècle, 16 % des accusés au tribunal royal le sont pour violences verbales et insultes. On s’attaque sur l’honneur, traitant les hommes de fripons, chiens, coquins, et les femmes de gueuses et de putains. Quand ces insultes visent Dieu (le blasphème) ou le roi, elles sont considérées comme des crimes de lèse-majesté.

La loi sur les blasphèmes de 1617 prévoit une amende pour la première offense, une amende additionnée d’une peine de prison aux deux offenses subséquentes, une punition encore plus sévère, souvent corporelle, à la quatrième offense.

En France, des hommes sont même condamnés à mort pour avoir blasphémé. Le blasphème fait peur, car, comme la sorcellerie, on croit qu’il attire la malédiction de Dieu. Au 17e siècle, en Nouvelle-France, on dénombre quatorze condamnations pour blasphème devant les tribunaux. Toutefois, à partir du 18e siècle, les tribunaux de la colonie punissent moins les blasphémateurs. Souvent, ils ne les condamnent que s’ils sont en même temps accusés d’autres délits.

Au milieu du 19e siècle, scandalisée par l’utilisation de plus en plus fréquente du vocabulaire liturgique dans les jurons, l’Église prend la relève des tribunaux pour les condamner. De 1849 à 1951, il y a près de quarante références au blasphème dans les mandements des évêques. Considéré comme l’un des «péchés capitaux des Canadiens», il est dénoncé dans les sermons, les prônes, les retraites, les neuvaines. Les prêtres réprouvent le blasphème comme ils réprouvent l’indiscipline avant la messe, l’ivresse ou l’indécence. Mais de plus en plus, ils blâment le caractère grossier du juron davantage que son aspect blasphématoire.

Avec la laïcisation des institutions et la baisse d’influence de l’Église lors de la Révolution tranquille, le sacre se répand et se banalise. Dans les milieux académiques, on étudie la langue populaire québécoise pour ce qu’elle est, et les jurons sont considérés comme l’une de ses caractéristiques. Les jurons font leur entrée en littérature, par exemple dans la pièce Les Belles-Soeurs de Michel Tremblay et dans le roman Salut Galarneau! de Jacques Godbout. On les retrouve aussi dans les chansons, au cinéma, à la télévision et dans la toponymie. À une certaine époque, les jurons sont la marque de commerce de quelques chefs syndicaux et de députés. Malgré cette nouvelle «gloire», les jurons demeurent dans le registre du grossier et du vulgaire. Plusieurs continuent de les condamner, surtout dans les milieux éducatifs.

Comme leurs ancêtres français, les Québécois ont depuis longtemps trouvé des moyens pour contourner la répression qui entoure les jurons. Pour en connaître davantage sur la créativité démontrée par les Québécois pour jurer sans jurer, nous vous donnons rendez-vous le 31 octobre 2006.

Sources
  • HARDY, René. «Ce que sacrer veut dire: à l’origine du juron religieux au Québec», dans Jean Delumeau et autres, Injures et blasphèmes, Paris, Imago, 1989, pp. 99-125.
  • LACHANCE, André. Crimes et criminels en Nouvelle-France. Montréal, Boréal express, 1984, 184 p.
  • PICHETTE, Jean-Pierre. Le guide raisonné des jurons: langue, littérature, histoire et dictionnaire des jurons, Montréal, Quinze éditeur, 1980, 305 p.

Troisième épisode
Les mille détours du juron

Pour éviter les réprimandes, la désapprobation sociale ou la colère divine, les Québécois ont tôt appris à jurer sans prononcer les mots sacrilèges, comme le faisaient leurs ancêtres en France. Ils font preuve à ce sujet d’une créativité remarquable. Au Québec, on répertorie plus de deux mille jurons. De ce nombre, près de la moitié existent uniquement pour «adoucir» une vingtaine d’autres jurons, considérés comme lourds de conséquences.

Plusieurs procédés sont possibles pour contourner un juron. Par exemple, on peut retirer certaines lettres ou syllabes d’un juron initial et les remplacer par d’autres pour créer un nouveau mot. On peut aussi mélanger l’ordre des lettres et des syllabes. Ce faisant, on prend soin de conserver assez de ressemblances avec le mot d’origine pour qu’il n’y ait pas de doutes sur la provenance du nouveau juron. On peut aussi remplacer le mot sacrilège par un ou plusieurs mots tout à fait neutres ayant une sonorité semblable. Voici quelques exemples de ces jurons de remplacement.

Juron d’origine Juron altéré Juron choisi par ressemblance
Baptême Batinse
Basouelle
Bateau
Bon Dieu Bondance Bombarde
Calice Câlasse
Câline
Alice
Calvaire Caltor Joual-vert
Christ Criffe Crime
Ciboire Archibouère Six boîtes
Corps de Dieu Corbleu Bout de corde
Hostie Hostifie
Titi (en)
Asphalte
Esprit
Je renie Dieu Jarnidieu  
Maudit Mausus
Saudit
Soda
Mardi
Mort Dieu Morbleu Morue
Tabernacle Batarnac
Tabarnique
Tableau
Ta boîte
Vierge Fiarge Cierge

En plus des jurons de remplacement, d’autres possibilités s’offrent aux jureurs qui ne désirent pas offenser Dieu. S’ils ont besoin d’un juron fort et transgressif, ils peuvent choisir d’enfreindre les règles de la bienséance avec un mot profane grossier comme bordel, putain ou merde. Ils peuvent aussi adopter un patois inoffensif comme ambulance ou rhubarbe, ou préférer un juron faisant partie du vocabulaire religieux mais sans connotation injurieuse. Les jurons doux Jésus, bon Dieu de la vie et pour l’amour du ciel paraissent ainsi comme des invocations de la divinité.

Dans le discours, jurons de remplacement et jurons «purs» sont utilisés de façon riche et variée. Certains jureurs choisissent de combiner les jurons en les enfilant, ce qui donne des sacres comme sacré maudit calice de saint-ciboire. D’autres leur attribuent des rôles variés dans la phrase. Ainsi, le juron Christ peut être utilisé comme interjection, comme nom «mon petit crisse», comme verbe «crisse ton camp» et comme adjectif «une façon crisse de travailler».

La série de chroniques portant sur Le juron québécois à travers les âges est maintenant terminée. Nous vous donnons rendez-vous le 14 novembre 2006 avec un nouveau thème.

Source
  • PICHETTE, Jean-Pierre. Le guide raisonné des jurons: langue, littérature, histoire et dictionnaire des jurons, Montréal, Quinze éditeur, 1980, 305 p.

Retour 

Des jurons dans la toponymie du Québec
Près de Saint-Étienne-des-Grès, il y a un endroit sur la rivière Saint-Maurice où les embarcations ont du mal à passer et où les rameurs, à bout de souffle, s’impatientent et jurent abondamment. La pointe qui s’y trouve, cible des nombreux jurons, se nomme la «Pointe aux Baptêmes».