The Undergrowth

A shaded, cool and humid place, the undergrowth was frequently visited by the First Nations women who were able to walk for several days with their children to pick plants that were necessary to their survival.

Today, the forest and its undergrowth have a key role in maintaining our vital balance. They help to regulate the climate and, because they absorb carbon dioxide, act as our planet’s lung.

Under the trees, this fragile ecosystem combines balance and harmony. Within these intricate systems, plants, animals, insects, fungi and bacteria coexist. The balance among species makes the undergrowth a rich and plentiful place, a place essential to human beings.

The trillium, an ephemeral plant found in the Jardin des origines, is an excellent example of the precariousness of the undergrowth. This delicate white or red flower is very visible in the spring. However, in the dry days of July, the trillium completely disappears from the soil’s surface.

Jardin «Les 3 sœurs»
White trillium
Photo: Frédéric Coursol
Jardin «Les 3 sœurs»
White trillium
Photo: Maison Saint-Gabriel
LA SAINTE-CATHERINE
Wild garlic flower
Photo: Frédéric Coursol

Back

Le sous-bois

Paysage d’ombre, de fraîcheur et d’humidité, le sous-bois est un lieu particulièrement fréquenté par les femmes autochtones qui peuvent marcher plusieurs jours, accompagnées de leurs enfants, pour y cueillir les plantes nécessaires à leur survie.

Aujourd’hui, la forêt et son sous-bois occupent un rôle primordial dans le maintien de notre équilibre vital, en participant à la régulation du climat et en servant de poumon à notre planète par le stockage des gaz carboniques.

Sous les arbres, cet écosystème fragile combine équilibre et harmonie. Dans ces réseaux complexes coexistent végétaux, animaux, insectes, champignons et bactéries. Cet équilibre entre les espèces contribue à faire du sous-bois un milieu foisonnant, riche, essentiel à l’être humain.

Le trille, plante fugace du Jardin des origines, incarne à elle seule la précarité du sous-bois. Cette délicate fleur blanche ou rouge est immanquable au printemps mais dès le mois de juillet, lorsque l’été est sec, le trille disparaît complètement de la surface du sol.

Jardin «Les 3 sœurs»
Trille blanc
Photo: Frédéric Coursol
Jardin «Les 3 sœurs»
Trille blanc
Photo: Maison Saint-Gabriel
LA SAINTE-CATHERINE
Fleurs d'ail des bois
Photo: Frédéric Coursol

Retour