Site

THE CATHERINE-CROLO PAVILION

Catherine Crolo, first sharecropper at Maison Saint-Gabriel

Catherine Crolo was born in Lauzon, Lorraine in 1619. Her parents settled in Troyes, Champagne, where she met and made friends with Marguerite Bourgeoys. In 1658, she crossed the ocean to New France to join Marguerite Bourgeoys in Ville-Marie.

While Marguerite Bourgeoys devoted herself to teaching children, Catherine Crolo assumed responsibility for the domestic duties. In 1668, she took over the management of Maison Saint-Gabriel and its farm, which was called La Providence. She oversaw the clearing of the land, the planting of crops, tenant farming and the management of the harvests, while welcoming the King’s Wards and introducing them to life in the colony.

The Catherine-Crolo pavilion

Located in the north-west corner of the Maison Saint-Gabriel site, it serves as the reception pavilion for the museum. It houses the ticket office, the restaurant and the gift shop. It opens onto a vast space that can welcome approximately 100 visitors. It is decorated with an impressive stained-glass window, a colourful work that evokes working the land.

jardin des Métayères
Photo: Pierre Guzzo
jardin des Métayères
Photo: Pierre Guzzo

Photo: Pierre Guzzo

The stained-glass window

The future germinated in the soil…
The future germinated in the soil and we found it. We soothed it, rocking its gold and ochre through time under the breeze of a soil to be shared. The country is slow and human life, very short. Time passes on from hand to hand.


Photo: Pierre Guzzo

A restaurant called the Refectory

On the ground floor of the pavilion, there is a large refectory with a long, narrow table where visitors can eat “some bread and soup”, as Marguerite Bourgeoys used to say. Outside, a real bread oven, built in keeping with the traditional style by artisan Jean Laberge, is used to produce delicious bread, which can either be eaten on site or purchased in the gift shop.


Photo: Pierre Guzzo
jardin des Métayères
Photo: Maude Laferrière
jardin des Métayères
Photo: Pierre Guzzo

The gift shop and tea room

There is also a magnificent gift shop with an area of 70 m2 where visitors can obtain original items related to history and rural life. It also houses a tea room that opens out onto an outdoor terrace and is dedicated to rest and the sampling of herbal teas produced from herbs grown in the vegetable garden. It is decorated with a public work of art created by Michel Goulet.


Photo: Pierre Guzzo

An activity area that can welcome approximately 100 people

The museum’s numerous lectures and cultural activities now take place in this large, multi-purpose room. It is located next to the entrance is is equipped with leading-edge technology. Moreover, on the first floor of the new building, there are three conference rooms (10, 16 and 24 places) which can be rented.

jardin des Métayères
Photo: Monique Tairraz

Photo: Pierre Guzzo

Photo: Pierre Guzzo

les lieux

LE PAVILLON CATHERINE-CROLO

Catherine Crolo, première métayère de la Maison Saint-Gabriel

Catherine Crolo naît à Lauzon en Lorraine en 1619. Ses parents s’établissent à Troyes en Champagne où elle rencontre et se lie d’amitié avec Marguerite Bourgeoys. En 1658, elle entreprend la grande traversée vers la Nouvelle-France et vient rejoindre Marguerite Bourgeoys à Ville-Marie.

Pendant que Marguerite Bourgeoys se consacre à l’enseignement des enfants, Catherine Crolo assume les tâches domestiques. En 1668, elle devient la gérante de la Maison Saint-Gabriel et de sa ferme, appelée alors La Providence. C’est elle qui dirige le défrichement, la mise en culture, puis le fermage et la gestion des récoltes, sans oublier l’accueil des Filles du Roy et leur initiation à la vie d’ici.

Biographie de Catherine Crolo

Le pavillon Catherine-Crolo

Situé au nord-ouest du site de la Maison Saint-Gabriel, il est le pavillon d’accueil du musée. Il comprend la billetterie et offre les services de son restaurant et de sa boutique. Il s’ouvre sur un vaste espace pouvant recevoir une centaine de visiteurs. Il est orné d’un impressionnant vitrail, une œuvre colorée évoquant le travail de la terre.

jardin des Métayères
3 photos: Pierre Guzzo
jardin des Métayères

Le vitrail

L’avenir germait dans la terre…
L’avenir germait dans la terre et nous l’avons trouvé. Nous l’avons bercé pour qu’il ploie longtemps ses ors et ses ocres sous le vent d’un sol à partager. Le pays est lent et la vie humaine, bien courte. D’une main à l’autre se transmet le temps.
Mireille Cliche, écrivaine


Photo: Pierre Guzzo

Un restaurant baptisé le Réfectoire

Au rez-de-chaussée du pavillon, on trouve un grand réfectoire où, autour d’une tablée longue et étroite, le visiteur peut trouver «pain et potage», selon l’adage cher à Marguerite Bourgeoys. Ainsi, à l’extérieur, un véritable four à pain, construit de façon traditionnelle par l’artisan Jean Laberge, permet la production d’un pain délicieux, disponible à la consommation sur place ou à la boutique.


Photo: Pierre Guzzo
jardin des Métayères
Photo: Maude Laferrière
jardin des Métayères
Photo: Pierre Guzzo

La boutique et la tisanerie

Une magnifique boutique de quelque 70 m2 permet aux visiteurs de se procurer des objets originaux, parfois uniques, reliés à l’histoire et à la ruralité. Elle contient une tisanerie qui s’ouvre sur une terrasse extérieure, dédiée au repos et à la dégustation de tisanes produites avec des herbes du potager. Elle est ornée par une œuvre d’art public réalisée par Michel Goulet.


Photo: Pierre Guzzo

Une aire d’animation pouvant accueillir une centaine de personnes

Désormais les nombreuses conférences et activités culturelles du musée ont lieu dans la grande salle polyvalente. Elle est située à côté de l’entrée et équipée à la fine pointe de la technologie. De plus, à l’étage, le nouvel édifice compte trois salles de conférences (10, 16 et 24 places) qui sont offertes en location.

jardin des Métayères
Photo: Monique Tairraz

Photo: Pierre Guzzo

Photo: Pierre Guzzo