Services

THE REFECTORY AND THE BREAD OVEN

The Refectory

View the menu

The Refectory restaurant is open on Saturday and Sunday. Meals are served at noon and at 1:30 p.m. Reservations required.

Open from Thursday to Sunday: at noon and 1:30 p.m., the museum’s restaurant, called the Refectory, welcomes you around a long table with 32 places. On the menu: a country meal in the style of New France, with bread and soup. You will enjoy a unique experience with a tasty menu, served in reproduction dishes based on elements in the museum’s collection, which dates back to the 17th century.

To ensure a place in the Refectory, it is preferable to make a reservation by telephone.

For groups of 20 people or more, the Refectory can open from Tuesday through Sunday, at 12:00 noon, at 1:30 p.m. or at 5:00 p.m. Reservation required.

Repas campagnard à la mode de Nouvelle-France, avec le pain et le potage
Photo: Pierre Guzzo
Le Réfectoire
Photo: Maude Laferrière
Le Réfectoire
Photo: Pierre Guzzo

The bread oven

Cooking the bread
Outdoor bread ovens, often called "summer ovens", were generally built from clay and covered with a small roof to protect them from inclement weather. A traditional method for building such ovens was developed in the 17th century. On a solid platform of stone or planks, a cement hearth would be poured and smoothed (fireplace) and the door would be installed immediately. The oven would then be shaped from clay, well-mixed with straw, using a template made from alder wood. The vault would be shaped so as to rise gradually from the door to the back of the oven in order to ensure that the fire would burn well. As a result, the oven looked like a crouching beaver. A small roof would be installed over the oven, to allow it to dry for a week. The first fire would burn the alder wood and harden the vault. The Maison Saint-Gabriel bread oven was built by Jean Laberge.

[See the steps in building the bread oven]

Cooking the bread
Once the oven is thoroughly heated with a wood fire, the ashes are removed. Once the oven reaches an adequate temperature, a batch of several loaves of bread is put in to bake. This baking process takes about 30 minutes.

The bread is cooked either in bread pans or directly on the hearth, depending on the type of bread desired. There are many types of bread, such as household bread, round bread, braided bread and many others!

Cuisson du pain
Photo: Monique Tairraz
Pain
Photo: Monique Tairraz
Le four à pain
Photo: Pierre Guzzo

The bread is served in the Refectory
Once the bread has been cooked on site in the oven, it will be served in the Refectory, namely the museum’s restaurant. It will be served with a rich and hearty soup, much like the soups served in the 17th century. During their visit to the museum, visitors will discover new – and very old – flavours!

Information and reservations:
Téléphone: 514 935-8136
Fax: 514 935-5692
Email: mjrcip@globetrotter.net

Services

Le Réfectoire et le four à pain

Le Réfectoire

Le Réfectoire est ouvert du jeudi au dimanche. Repas à 12 h et 13 h 30 (sur réservation).

Le restaurant du musée, nommé le Réfectoire, vous accueille autour d’une longue table de 32 places. Au menu, un repas campagnard à la mode de Nouvelle-France, avec le pain et le potage. Vous vivrez une expérience unique avec un menu goûteux, servi dans une vaisselle reproduite d’après des éléments de la collection du musée, datant du 17e siècle.

Pour vous assurer une place au Réfectoire, il est préférable de réserver : 514 935-8136.

Pour des groupes de 20 personnes et plus, le Réfectoire peut ouvrir du mardi au dimanche
à 12 h et 13 h 30 et de 17 h à 19 h. Sur réservation.

Pour consulter le menu

Repas campagnard à la mode de Nouvelle-France, avec le pain et le potage
Photo: Pierre Guzzo
Le Réfectoire
Photo: Maude Laferrière
Le Réfectoire
Photo: Pierre Guzzo

Le four à pain

Un four à pain construit selon les règles de l’art
Les fours à pain extérieurs, souvent appelés «fours de l’été», étaient généralement construits en terre glaise et surmontés d’un petit toit pour le protéger des intempéries. Cette méthode artisanale traditionnelle de fabrication a été élaborée dès le 17e siècle. Sur une solide plateforme en pierre ou en madriers (la foutine), un âtre en ciment est coulé et lissé (la sole), et la porte est aussitôt installée. Le four est ensuite moulé avec de la glaise, bien pétrie avec de la paille, sur un gabarit fait d’aulnes. La forme intérieure de la voûte s'élève graduellement de la porte jusqu’à l’arrière du four pour assurer un bon roulement du feu. Elle lui donne l’allure d’un castor accroupi. Un petit toit est monté sur le four, qui va sécher pendant une semaine. Un premier feu brûle les aulnes et durcit la voûte. Le four à pain de la Maison Saint-Gabriel a été construit par l’artisan Jean Laberge.

[Voir les étapes de la construction du four à pain]

La cuisson du pain
Une fois le four bien chauffé avec un feu de bois, les cendres sont retirées. Il doit un peu refroidir pour atteindre la température adéquate, puis une fournée de plusieurs pains est mise à cuire. La cuisson dure environ 30 minutes.

Les pains sont cuits dans des moules ou bien directement sur la sole, selon le genre de pain que l’on a préparé. Il y a de nombreuses sortes de pain, comme le pain de ménage, mais aussi la miche, le pain à deux fesses, le pain tressé, le pain champignon ou le pain cuisse!

Cuisson du pain
Photo: Monique Tairraz
Pain
Photo: Monique Tairraz
Le four à pain
Photo: Pierre Guzzo

Le pain est servi au Réfectoire
Une fois cuit sur place dans le four, le pain est servi au Réfectoire, le restaurant du musée. Il accompagne le potage, une soupe riche et copieuse, comme on la servait au 17e siècle. Les visiteurs découvrent ainsi, pendant leur visite, des saveurs nouvelles… et très anciennes!

Renseignements et réservations:
Téléphone: 514 935-8136
Télécopieur: 514 935-5692
Adresse électronique: mjrcip@globetrotter.net